Meet the community: Catarina Rodrigues

Veronica Peitong Chen
AIxDESIGN
Published in
5 min readJul 11, 2022

_________________________________________________________________

PSA: It is a key value for us at AIxDESIGN to open-source our work and research. The forced paywalls here have led us to stop using Medium so while you can still read the article below, future writings & resources will be published on other platforms. Learn more at aixdesign.co or come hang with us on any of our other channels. Hope to see you there 👋

Shall we meet more of our community members? This month, let us introduce you to Catarina, our content lead and creator for AI Playground guides.

AIxD: Hi Catarina, super excited to interview you this month! I have been enjoying a lot of the content you have been sharing at AIxDesign. For our audience, could you tell a bit about yourself? What do you feel passionate about and what aspired you to do what you are doing right now?

Catarina: I’m a London-based digital designer with a great interest in generative visuals, mixed realities, and the human psyche.

Originally from a small town in the north of Portugal, I moved to England 8 years ago. Before the big move, I was certain that I would work in the biomedical field. I studied one year of biomedical sciences and realized that it was never intended for me — so I then decided to pursue what has always been my biggest passion: film.

After graduating, I was determined to work as a cinematographer during my career in film. I worked as a freelance photographer for big companies but soon realized how limited the photography medium could be if I stuck to the same old ways of working.

I became fascinated with the world of creative coding and interactive technologies, which led me to a master’s degree in Computational Arts. Since then, I’ve had the opportunity to expand my creative practice and exhibit projects publicly. The world of design came very spontaneously to me as nowadays I work full-time as a digital designer and also freelance on other design & tech projects.

I’m a firm believer that it’s totally okay to change paths, as I’m now able to look back and see how all of these experiences have shaped the work I currently do.

Project 25 Abril_Sempre, about Portuguese revolution witnessed by a machine

AIxD: I really admire how fearlessly you have been pursuing your passion. Are you currently working on any projects? 🖋

Catarina: I’m collaborating with inspiring people in the holistic field using intuitive design and creating interactive live visuals for their events. These collaborations help give a bigger purpose to what I do in my specific field.

AIxD: Since you have been our content lead, I am curious what do you find interesting in the AIxDesign crossover? 💾

Catarina: As the AIxDesign crossover becomes more widely accessible, I’m excited to see what the future will bring to art-making, especially filmmaking. I find it exhilarating to learn about new tools/software and hear about how other designers and artists are expanding their creative practice with these tools.

AIxD: When you are working in the field of creative technologies, is there any tools or methods that intrigue you currently?

Catarina: I’ve recently been reading into applying Jungian archetypes to my design work and how ancestral wisdom (I like to call it AI — ancestral intelligence) can influence the reasons behind why we design. I’m excited to find ways to weave the old and the new beyond the human-machine-future ideology.

AIxD: Ancestral Intelligence! How fascinating! To close our chat, is there any books, authors, or artists you would like to share with us? 📚

Catarina: I seem to always go back to Be Here Now by one of my main references, Ram Dass. It is fascinating and insightful, I find its visual journey a source of inspiration. The fact that it can look a bit chaotic ironically brings a sense of calm as you follow the path the book takes you on. It might not be for everyone, but I still find it one of the most beautiful books.

AIxD: Well thank you so much for the recommendation and thank you for taking the time for the chat! Can’t wait for the future projects that you will be working on🌸

To learn more about Catarina and her works:

Website: https://catarinarodrigues.co.uk/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/catariinaarodrigues/

About AIxDesign

AIxDesign is a place to unite practitioners and evolve practices at the intersection of AI/ML and design. We are currently organizing monthly virtual events, sharing content, exploring collaborative projects, and developing event programs.

To stay in the loop, follow us on Instagram, Linkedin, or subscribe to our monthly newsletter to capture it all in your inbox. You can now also find us at aixdesign.co.

--

--

Veronica Peitong Chen
AIxDESIGN

Experience designer at Adobe on AI/ML Design | Harvard Alumni