Meet the community:
Sinem Görücü

Veronica Peitong Chen
AIxDESIGN
Published in
3 min readApr 6, 2022

To share a variety of voices and perspectives in our growing community, we’ve decided to cast a monthly spotlight on one of our members in the form of mini-interviews 👀 This month, we are very happy to introduce you to Sinem Görücü: a data and design justice advocate and our event lead!

AIxD: Hi Sinem! Great to have the opportunity to chat with you 🙌. Please tell us briefly about yourself. What do you currently do, and what kind of background and experiences have led you to where you are now? 🎤
S: I was actually trained as an architect and an urban designer, and I slowly got interested in data and design justice during my studies. Right now, I am working freelance on a variety of creative things at the intersections of data, AI, design, feminism, and social justice.

AIxD: That’s amazing! I think data literacy and data science have become incredibly important topics to focus on in recent years, especially with the rise of machine learning. Could you tell us more about something you are interested in or excited about recently?

S: In general, I am very interested in community-initiated and -led data practices and lately, I have been interested in data storytelling and communal data story construction. Works by Giorgia Lupi (datavizscrapbook) have always inspired me.

Selected work from DataVizScrapbooks by Giorgia Lupi

AIxD: Thank you for sharing!😍 Is there anything you are working on at the moment you would like to share with us?
S: Right now, I am finalizing an article named “My Grandma Is Not A Cyborg” that I wrote for futuress.org. It is a critical text that merges the daily experiences of design oppression with design justice theory.

AIxD: That sounds extremely intriguing! Looking forward to the article. As the event lead for AIxD, what do you find interesting/attractive/worth looking into at the AIxDesign crossover?
S: I think what is most exciting to me is examining the potential and future of AI through the design justice perspective and exploring the democratized AI ways of doing/designing.

AIxD: Definitely. Hopefully, we could have more opportunities to learn more about design justice in AI-driven design in our future events! If you could pick one text/book or a podcast which is an absolute must-read or must-listen, what would you recommend?📚
S: I would definitely pick Data Feminism by Catherine D’ignazio and Lauren F. Klein, which has been the highlight of the last couple of years for me. I just keep it on my bedside table.

Data Feminism by Catherine D’ignazio and Lauren F. Klein

AIxD: Thank you! And thank you so much for chatting with us 🙏 we are looking forward to the future events you have planned for all of us in the upcoming months. 🎫

About AIxDesign

AIxDesign is a place to unite practitioners and evolve practices at the intersection of AI/ML and design. We are currently organizing monthly virtual events, sharing content, exploring collaborative projects, and developing event programs.

To stay in the loop, follow us on Instagram, Linkedin, or subscribe to our monthly newsletter to capture it all in your inbox. You can now also find us at aixdesign.co.

--

--

Veronica Peitong Chen
AIxDESIGN

Experience designer at Adobe on AI/ML Design | Harvard Alumni