The next generation of storytelling

How can AI help us discover new ways to create and tell stories?

Mara Pometti
AIxDESIGN

--

_________________________________________________________________

PSA: It is a key value for us at AIxDESIGN to open-source our work and research. The forced paywalls here have led us to stop using Medium so while you can still read the article below, future writings & resources will be published on other platforms. Learn more at aixdesign.co or come hang with us on any of our other channels. Hope to see you there 👋

Explaining AI with visual narratives

I heard a song recently on one of Spotify’s curated “Made for You” playlists, and it hit me that I hadn’t heard that particular song in ages. I used to listen to it constantly and Spotify didn’t even exist back then. How could its algorithm possibly have known it was relevant to me? Yep, that’s a rhetorical question. Surprise, surprise: it isn’t only historical data that feeds algorithms.

So, you might wonder — What other data are being used to predict my interests in music?

That, I’m sorry to say, is a question for engineers building algorithms and training models, but it is a good question. A question I’d like to find an answer to every time that, for example, Netflix recommends me a new show that I end up loving like crazy or, speaking of less frivolous topics when I hear a friend of mine complaining because she did not qualify for a second…

--

--

Mara Pometti
AIxDESIGN

AI Strategy at IBM. “The most valuable commodity in business today, if people would only recognize it, is enthusiasm” –R.J.