Kinmedai (金目鯛)

Alastair Tse
aka liquidx
Published in
1 min readApr 23, 2017

--

I discovered a delicious fish in Japan I had never had before.

The first time I came across it, I only knew of it as the “Red Fish” at Ezo Seafoods in Hirafu, Niseko. We had it delicious steamed in soy sauce and it was so delicious.

Red Fish

A week later in a local sushi restaurant in Sendagai, Tokyo called 鮨隆, we had an omakase (Chef’s selection) where the chef a Kinmedai (also known as Splendid Alfonsio) for usthat was one of my favorites of the night.

Our chef wrote down and translated all the fish he picked for us ^_^

Next time I stumble across this fish, I’m going to act all knowledgable and order it without hesitation.

--

--

Alastair Tse
aka liquidx

Software, Design, Data, Architecture, Photography, Food.