Christmas Rants

Jemima Oluwadarasimi Assim-Ita
The Massive Company
2 min readDec 25, 2016

There are a lot of people today that won’t have food to eat. Some haven’t eaten in days, yet we see them often, walk past them and say ‘Compliments of the season’.

Despite the various initiatives by the government to help internally displaced persons, the money provided by the government won’t get to them. The same ‘thieves’ will call for press conferences and say ‘Compliments of the season’.

Lagos and Kebbi State Governors brought an incentive to sell rice in different sizes and at lower prices to ensure the commodity is available for the average man. I am hoping we won’t find it in the open markets being sold for 15,000 Naira and above instead of the government imposed 12,000 Naira and below as the case may be. The same marketers will tell you ‘Times are hard’, ‘There’s recession in Nigeria’ and of course ‘Compliments of the season’.

Lake rice courtesy of Lagos and Kebbi States

We say there’s no money everyday, and we wait endlessly on the ATM line. If you say there’s no money, what are you doing on the ATM line? On my way out yesterday, I saw several cars parked to buy rams/goats for today’s celebration. And in all these, there’s no money.

Don’t get me wrong, I agree times may be hard right in the country. I am neither Dangote’s daughter nor Bill Gates’s cousin but because I am God’s daughter, and for those that are his children, when there’s a casting down, there shall be a lifting up and I stand on that authority.

This season is the season to show love.

Scratch that.

Every day is the season to show love.

Show someone love today. It doesn’t have to be monetary. It will shock you how far a compliment, a smile or a hug can go. If you can afford it and you’re willing, go as far as a loaf of bread or a bag of rice. Many people put on a face to cover the hurt and pain they are feeling. Put a smile on someone’s face today. JUST SHOW LOVE.

Don’t compliment someone if you don’t mean it. Let it come from your heart.

My rants are compliments of all the political wars that go on in my home everyday. I love you guys 😘.

--

--