I’m Going Off Social Media

Kofi Gyasi-Acquah
The Massive Company
6 min readSep 7, 2016
Photo Credit: Freepik.com

Those close to me, those who follow me on Twitter or read my blog know I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with social media. I’m someone who has touted the benefits of social media, of how it has helped me build some valuable connections and how it’s a place to learn and be inspired. But I’ve also talked about how I feel overwhelmed by social media and its powerful pull. I once wrote on how I was learning to remain sane in a pool of multiple media demanding for my time.

I’m going off social media ‘cause over the past few years, I’ve not been productive the way I want to be. My level of creativity is at an all-time low. I feel drained at the end of most other days. I’ve become the character in Stromae’s Carmen, feeding Twitter’s bird till it leads me to that ditch and feed me to that beast. 😱

Social media for me is a real time job. And no matter how much I trim my news feed, I still have not come to the place of not feeling overwhelmed. Hell, that is a far less cry than the pressure of trying to keep up with the Joneses of Facebook. 😒 Self promotion be what!

Ed Sheeran announced on 13th December 2015 that he’s going off social media and true to his word, his Twitter and IG has not been updated since.

In his year-long adventure of exploring the world, Ed ended up in my home country Ghana a couple of months back and Fuse ODG has gone into my bad books for keeping Ed to himself and his close circle of friends. *Just kidding* Or maybe I should have done more to see him? I’ll definitely catch up with the Ed guy.

A few months back, I interviewed the sweet and bubbly Chichi. About two years ago, Chichi wasn’t pleased with what she had accomplished at that stage in her life. So she deactivated her Facebook and deleted her Instagram and lived a year of no social media. During that period she reviewed her life, introspected, prayed and studied. A year later Chichi came out and started NyoNyo Foods, a catering and confectionary service which today has grown into a big household name in contract catering services. In less than a year, NyoNyo has served large local and multinational companies in Ghana, with several dozen clients and thousands of people having tasted food from her kitchen.

Aside Chichi, I’ve come across people online who took days, months and even years off to prepare themselves for the future they wanted to see. The most recent is the Ashesi lecturer and DJ who has deleted his Twitter account.

There is too much hurry in our fast-paced social media world such that there is little to no time for reflection or introspection. We are not even able to make time for what matter because we have to keep up with breaking news, ‘great’ stories on productivity and tech or even chatter away on Twitter. I’ve been there and I’m tired. So I’m taking a break. I want to slow down so I can make time for what matters. I want to move from the place of endless consumption to a place of creation.

God didn’t put you on earth just to read about what others do. He made you to do some things others will want to read about.” — Pastor Rick Warren

I turned 25 last month, and social media partly to be blamed, I couldn’t have a proper retreat as I had planned. With 25 being an important milestone in any person’s life, I’m not very much pleased with what I’ve accomplished on earth in 25 years of God’s gift of life to me.

So this month of September, I’m taking a one-month social media sabbatical. A full-month of no Facebook, no Twitter, no Instagram, no reading of breaking news and in-depth analysis of trending news stories (crazy how much I read on Brexit) or the latest gaffe by Donald Trump or the Ford Expedition ‘gift’ my country’s president has taken. After September, I’ll access my productivity level and make a decision as to whether to extend the break.

I will still be on WhatsApp to remain connected with family and friends. I will access my mail. I will still watch YouTube videos for educational purposes. And I’ll remain accessible via the good ol' voice call and text message.

It’s six days now since I began this journey and I already feel a relief of not having to type the f word in my Chrome browser daily. See you later Facebook. And I’ve already saved a darn good amount of internet data not having to watch Instagram moments and funny nothings on Twitter.

But above all these reasons, I need the break for my soul. My current state of living is one of scraping surfaces and not digging any deeper. I don’t think I’m being a good steward of the time God has given me. I read a couple of Bible verses and feel good for the day. I want to go deeper into the pages of the Bible. I read a couple of articles and get a morale boost that only last for a day. I want to read detailed treatment of topics that matter to me. I want something more weightier. I want to start digging. I want to make time for what really matters that is not getting the time it needs.

  1. I’ll be working more hours at my startup.
  2. I’ll make time for journaling, which I’ve been abysmal at since the beginning of the year.
  3. I’ll read some proper long piece content here on Medium.
  4. I’ll read more books. I mean real books. Paperbacks and hardcovers. My old man recently showed me his library and I was amazed at the extent of his book collection over more than four decades. He’s invited me to come look through and help myself. ☺
  5. I’ll write fresh new content for my blog and publications I contribute to.
  6. I’ll incorporate some art into my life. Schooling stole my childhood love for the visual arts. Social media and a working life are the new culprits now. I’m going back to the things that brought me joy in my childhood. 🎨
  7. I’ll learn some new skills and improve upon what I already know. I took my first photography lesson yesterday. Yaay for me. 💃
  8. I’ll find time to meet and talk with my friends, mentors and mentees. I’ll also go out and make some new friends. I’m currently reading Keith Ferrazi’s Never Eat Alone. Eureka!
  9. I’ll do some short trips to explore great new places.
  10. I want to enjoy some new sports, high on my list skating 🏂 and tennis. 🎾

If you want to build a great new product or service, start a business, introduce a new groundbreaking idea, you need time off. Time off the internet. Time off social media. Time off WhatsApp. Time off breaking news and ‘fresh’ new content. Time off the things that take your time yet produce tiny-puny results for you. You know what combinations will work for you and you decide how much time you want to take off. Don’t end up being fed to the beast in Carmen.

You need time for yourself, to find out the treasures God has put within you, to learn a new skill or begin work on turning one of your many ideas into a viable business. Take some time off.

(Enjoyed reading this post? Give it a 💚 so others on Medium can find it. Shalom!)

--

--