Going Home: He is Risen

Alan Bentrup
Hope Springs Eternal
2 min readApr 16, 2017

I’ve had a pretty crappy Lent.

On Wednesday, March 1 — Ash Wednesday — we got the news we didn’t want to hear. The spot the doctors found on my dad’s lung was cancer. Further tests would reveal it was stage four. Three weeks later, my dad died.

Today is Easter Sunday, the Feast of the Resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ. I’ve always loved Easter. That seems like a silly thing for a priest to say, but my love goes beyond the theological roots of this day. Rather, this day also is about family. Growing up, Easter Sunday was big in my family. I remember arriving early with my Dad to unlock our parish hall (our weekly routine), start some coffee, and setting up chairs for our sunrise service. We also helped to get ready for the pancake breakfast that the youth of our church hosted every Easter as a fundraiser.

The Triduum this week has been hard, to say the least. On Maundy Thursday, we remembered the humility of a Servant. And that reminded me of my dad. On Friday, I helped chant the Great Litany, and of course I had to pray “That it may please thee to grant to all the faithful departed eternal life and peace, We beseech thee to hear us, good Lord.”

On Friday night, I walked with my boys through the Stations of the Cross. Looking at the woodwork of the stations, the St. Mary’s Cross, the prayer path built by parishioners hands, I was reminded of the churches my dad helped build with his own hands. I was reminded of the countless work days at Redeemer and the things we built there. I was reminded of the stories I’ve heard over this past month of the things he built at The Summit on those parish work days.

And last night. how blessed was this night. At our Easter Vigil, I read St. John Chysostom’s Paschal homily. From the pulpit, where I am privileged to proclaim God’s truth to God’s people, I read these words:

O death, where is thy sting?
O Hell, where is thy victory?

Death’s sting is deep in my heart right now. And yet. I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, hell has no victory. Death has no victory.

Because Christ is risen from the dead! Alleluia, alleluia!

[tentblogger-youtube IExdrZGQVeI]

--

--

Alan Bentrup
Hope Springs Eternal

Priest in The Episcopal Church. Co-founder and curator of Missional Voices. I write about mission and innovation in the Church. I root for Frogs and Rangers.