What is it like being a dad?

Alan Bentrup
Hope Springs Eternal
1 min readJun 17, 2013

This video was the announcement bumper at liturgy today, so I wanted to share.

[tentblogger-youtube iFC7oGI3baI]

I’ve been asked this same question several times by friends and other who don’t have kids or are expecting their first. The answer is simple, but incredibly difficult.

Being a dad is the hardest thing you’ll ever do. Take today, for example. I wrangled two noisy kids at church, herded them both at the pool, cleaned up poop from the public bathroom floor (couldn’t wait one second longer), and dealt with a preschooler who is learning to forgo a nap. Today was tougher than most, but each day has its challenges.

But being a dad is also the greatest think you’ll ever do. Take today, for example. I saw two young kids approach the altar by themselves and partake in the Body and Blood of Christ, helped a three year old swim his first unaided one-foot stretch, got help from a big brother in the bathroom, and was asked to play Legos with a non-napping preschooler.

I couldn’t ask for a better Father’s Day.

--

--

Alan Bentrup
Hope Springs Eternal

Priest in The Episcopal Church. Co-founder and curator of Missional Voices. I write about mission and innovation in the Church. I root for Frogs and Rangers.