Beware of unprovisioned VMs

Wojciech Ziniewicz
Stories imported from wordpress
1 min readMay 28, 2013

Few months ago I started renting a small VM from Hetzner Company. I rent many physical servers in their datacenters because prices are very very good, but this time I wanted to have small monitoring server that will run 3 services:

  • zabbix server
  • mysql server 5.5
  • zabbix frontend (which is in fact php + apache2)

So I bought 1CPU + 1GB of RAM. It sounds right eh? Something like 10–20 servers connected to zabbix in passive mode.

Screenshot from 2013-05-28 13:51:58

Ufortunately… since IO is not provisioned it means that its flat zero. IOwait did not go under 40% where level higher than 10% is something abnormal on a healthy server.

I will not conclude because I like you Hetzner :)

--

--