Photo by Harpal Singh on Unsplash

Hello Medium, UI/UX newbie here!

Albert Stone
Albert Stone Design
4 min readApr 27, 2018

--

Hi, my name is Albert I am wrting for the first time in Medium because I love to read articles about UI/UX/Design.

I am doing some studies with user interface and trying to find my style. I know that we can’t always use our unique style because clients hire us to create unique ones for their products.

Figma Design

First of all, I am using Figma Design platform to design screens for apps and websites, so I am really enjoying Figma and its team.

As an exercise I started with an basic idea for an streaming app for video games. I just gave it a random name, used a random typography and a nice cool first letter that I made in 20 secs.

Whatever is written there…

Gaming world has its own unique color language. Black and dark gray are the one-to-go (Razer, Alienware, YoutubeGaming, TwitchTV, AzubuTV). This land of darkness normally comes together with a flashy symbol, color, stripe or whatever the brand calls it. Let’s go purple because its flashy, young and brings some resemblance to Twitch.tv users (let the user on its confort zone).

Whatever login screen up in here…

Login screen

No big deal. Im still not sure about the contrast between the purple and the dark gray background, especially on the logo. I really love this saturated purple and I didn’t wanted to go full black/white on login screen. CTA buttons seem alright.

Not totaly confortable with social media buttons, don’t really know if the should match the CTA buttons’ height or keep them bigger because its the most common way users login into the platform.

I love writing the sample texts. Lorem ipsum is garbage.

Start page?

This should be a prototype of some slice of the start page (C’mon we all know the start page in most cases aren’t the one we past most time because it is full of suggestions and when we know what we want it becomes almost useless)

Buuuuut… As we can see on the top we have menu icon, logo centered and of course profile picture which leads to profile page.

Just below that I was thinking in a quick access message board but I am still not sure about the navigation, maybe I should get rid of the arrow and just let the user swipe between messages. Arrows are for web users, this is mobile b*tch!

Ignore the play button, I just wanted to save some space for a quick “stream now” button. Notifications about the channels followed by the user in order: gold and silver (random idea explanation is coming bellow).

Don’t ask me how my brain works, sometimes random screens pops on my mind with absolutely no order, and I eventually do them.

Channel Tiers?

Yes! Channel Tiers. This is the one thing I am proud of.

Imagine a scenario on youtube. Your favorite youtube channel, you subscribe to it, you favorite it, you bookmark it. This is gold.

Sometimes you just subscribe a channel that you watch a few videos of it, it is fun but not gold. This is silver.

Now… Everybody has to start somewhere. Bronze is not bad, bronze is respect. When someone watches you and see potential they’ll bronze you. Like saying “Dude! I believe in you, keep going.”

I can see people killing eachother fighting for top 1 bronze stars.

I hope you enjoyed my article (or whatever medium calls it. story maybe. why?idk) and sorry for grammar errors I’m not a native english speaker. This is my first article for Medium and I would like to thanks all design UI/UX content creators on this amazing platform (blog?website?app?) that inspired me to study even more about design everyday.

All screens together

--

--

Albert Stone
Albert Stone Design

Freelancer solo designer. Working with UI/UX in a technology startup. Prototyping is what I do the best.