About Me

I’m Alejandro Coy: Chemical Engineer, Data Science Enthusiast, and Amateur Triathlete.

Alejandro Coy
Alejandro-DataScience Journey
2 min readNov 24, 2018

--

I’ve been working in the research and implementation of the development of new technologies for the heavy oil industry for the past 9 years. For 5 years, I was in charge of Catalyst for Bitumen Upgrading Group laboratory at the University of Calgary, where I supported the experimental research of over 20 Master and Ph.D. students.

Since I worked on my bachelor’s thesis (where I analyzed thousands of flow measurements for gas natural mixtures), I’ve been passionate about data and the powerful insights that can be obtained from experiments where the information is collected and proceed correctly.

I’ve worked as a technology development engineer at PC-CUPS ltd, which is a spinoff company from the University of Calgary. At PC-CUPS, we worked on bringing new technologies to the pilot test.

I am currently working as a Process Engineer consultan at Rangeland Engineering Canada, which is a more classic role in the field. This is an exciting new challenge where I expose to the challenges of design equipment, develop simulation, and working in the debottleneck of a full-size NGL fractionation industrial plant. As well, exposure to the anew whole field, the storage of hydrocarbon in salt mined caverns.

I’m originally from Colombia and now I live in Calgary, Canada with my wife “la Nena” and our dog Parce. We both train for triathlons together and sport is a big part of our lives. We enjoy good food and recently became Canadian citizens. Also, love sports, especially soccer and NFL.

La Nena, Parce and Alejo In Lake Louise!

Skills:

- Process Simulation

- Pilot Plant Operation and Design

- Heavy Oil technologies

- Front end web Development

- JavaScript Programing

- Python Programming

- NumPy

- Pandas

- Matplotlib

- Seaborn

- Exploratory Data Analysis

Education:

The University of Calgary (2010–2012)

- Master of Science (M.Sc.) Petroleum Engineering

-Catalysis for Bitumen Upgrading Group

-Experimental Simulation of a Hot fluid injection process for in-reservoir upgrading

Universidad de Los Andes(2004–2009)

Bachelor of Science (BSc) Chemical Engineering

Let’s Connect!

Don’t hesitate to reach out to me.

Twitter: @data_coy

Email: acoydata@gmail.com

--

--