Geological Time Scale

Alena
Alena’s Journal
Published in
1 min readFeb 4, 2018

Yesterday my son asked about the Earth’s formation how old was the Earth. I put some effort to find the best age-appropriate poster to hang out in his room. But everywhere I looked I saw incorrect periods or incorrect dates or even lack of Quaternary period (which started 2.58 billion years ago).

Of course, the best and most accurate is the international chronostratigraphic chart, which reflects all the recent findings and researches (ok, not really all, ratified) but doesn’t attract the young minds and doesn’t display all the coolest melted oceans and asteroids bombardment in the very begging, the life origin in Archean (or even in Hadean about 4,4 Ma), cambrian explosion, terrifing extinction events, the best days of Dinosauria which I still remember from my childhood. So we took the challedge and decided to spent the next months researching all major events in every single Periods, did our best and make our own chart.

Let the journey begins.

The latest version (v2017/02) of the International Chronostratigraphic Chart. http://www.stratigraphy.org/ICSchart/ChronostratChart2017-02.jpg

--

--