Imperfect Produce Review and Unboxing

Alena
Alena’s Journal
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2018

I’m on a mission to save fruits and vegetables and to reduce food waste.

Use this link to get a $10 discount: https://www.imperfectproduce.com/

It’s been 2 months since I’ve started my journey with the Imperfect Produce. I found their ad on Facebook and gave it a try, choosing medium size box, organic only produce.

Our community is changing the world!

Fact: 1 in 5 fruits and veggies grown in the U.S. don’t meet cosmetic standards — the crooked carrot, the curvy cucumber, the undersized apple — usually causing them to go to waste. We’re here to change that.

Honestly, I was shocked to find out that about 30% of fruits and vegetables are thrown away only because “we can’t stack it on a shelf”.

Living in high rise building, I had expected a call back letting me know that my area was not served, but instead I received a call from a driver asking for the parking instructions.

The imperfect box appeared to be absolutely perfect with fresh veggies and fruits right from a farm to your door. I was impressed by the quality and freshness. It’s better than in ANY grocery store.

Every week you can customize your box from scratch or go with the default option.

PROS

  • Delivery to high-rise buildings.
  • Greatest, absolutely fabulous customer service.
  • Fruits and vegetables are right from the farm. Fresher than in ANY grocery store.
  • Customization from scratch and in advance. In my case, I’m customizing on Monday to get the boxes on Thuesday.
  • You don’t need to be at home for a delivery.
  • Non-produce items availability: chocolate truffles, coffee beans, raisins.
  • You cook more and eat better food! I’ve realized to start cooking healthy organic food a lot during the week. When you’d saved an apple or a pumpkin, you won’t let it end up in a trash container :)
  • Cheap!

CONS

  • Every week availabilities differ. There is no guarantee to get a non-seasonal produce.

Tips for storing your produce.

Here are few items from our boxes.

And it’s such a fun for children to help unpacking and sorting. And they can’t help asking for a slice of vegetable frittata every morning!

--

--