It’s all about the team

Nadav Weizmann (Wiz)
Aleph
Published in
2 min readNov 7, 2016

I’m joining Aleph as EIR (Entrepreneur In Residence)!

illustrated by Keren Rosen

A few years ago, I dedicated my life to the first 2 years of the wonderful Onavo. I thought I knew what Founders, Startups and Venture Capital means. My soul pushed me to be a founder, start my own startup and raise money… so I did just that.

3 years as an eager entrepreneur, several millions of venture dollars, one successful team, one amazing product, and one failed startup later, this is what I’ve learned:

  1. I love it, all of it.
  2. I knew nothing :) I have so much more to learn about Entrepreneurship, Startups and definitely Venture Capital.

Docady was an amazing experience! So amazing, it’s hard for me to put it in writing.

It’s the team. It’s all about the team! Great same-name-bearing partner (Nadav), amazing teammates (Mor, Hemdat, Hetzi, Suki, Guy, Aviram, Beata and Keren), always-with-you investors (Tal Barnoach & Adam, Rami Bracha and Eilon Tirosh) — it’s the people that made the journey worthwhile.

A startup is, really, an endless stream of successes and failures. It’s the people you’re with, pushing back on problems and raising a toast (or a burger) on a milestone — that’s what makes the experience so unique. And we’ve had our fair share of those.

I’ll try to write some more in the near future on how I’ve “successfully failed at my first startup”, but it’s clear: joining Eden, Michael, Aaron and the rest of the dedicated team at Aleph is the best thing I can do. It’s the place to best explore my next endeavour, to help our community and to learn all I can about Venture Capital and Entrepreneurship. It’s definitely the best school in town.

Oh, and the cherry on top? I’ll be doing it with my brother-by-choice: Mor Sela!

I’ll be listening at wiz@aleph.vc if you’re an entrepreneur and wanna share what you’re working on, get another opinion, or think I can help with anything, I’m known for having immediate strong opinions on anything ;)

Really excited to be here.

--

--