Leap Forward

Nadav Weizmann (Wiz)
Aleph
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2017

Short Story:

I’m leaving Aleph and joining Houseparty 🎉 (and will be relocating to San Francisco in July ✈️ 😁)

Longer Story:

Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans

Just a few months ago, I joined Aleph as an Entrepreneur in Residence.
Not really sure what that means, I found myself looking through a different and amazing prism of the tech industry!
From seeing endless new and exciting founders, ideas and companies through internal concepts, projects and events to Aleph’s intriguing partners meetings - I felt empowered by my new view of this industry and its building blocks.

At Aleph, I pursued my goal of helping the industry, Aleph and its portfolio companies.
I met with dozens of founders each month (20–40 on average), and did my best to help them. I even got some cool responses… here’s my favorite:

EIRing at Aleph was enlightening. Eden, Michael, Aaron and Yael were such a power-source of knowledge. I enjoyed interacting with the portfolio founders and learned how good startups are born, develop and evolve into great ones!

I was sure I was gonna start a new startup (with my beloved Mor Sela of course). However, pretty quickly, as part of Aleph’s pledge to provide as much value as possible to its portfolio companies, we temporarily joined Houseparty.

That was a fast-paced, few weeks ride, in which two things happened:
1. We succeeded in helping the company reach some immediate important goals (even got this cool butt-saving-badge):

My butt-saving-badge 😉

2. Became close relationships with Ben, Sima and the rest of Houseparty’s crazy team.

late night pizzas

As weeks went on, the relationship with Houseparty did not diminish, and the feeling of wanting to take a more active part only grew stronger.

It’s just so exciting!
Growing to millions of active users in mere months, bringing a new way for people to interact and hangout — there aren’t many things like it.
Feels to me like there’s a battle heating up… it’s coming… who’s gonna win this generation’s hearts and be the place where they talk, joke and party?
It’s not what I had planned, but sometimes, you just gotta listen closely, you gotta leap forward!

I’d like to thank Eden, Michael, Aaron and Yael and the rest of the Aleph team for taking me in!
Thank you Ben, Sima and the Houseparty team for your confidence in me!

--

--