4 Things Your Intern Wishes You Would Do

Barbara Kufiadan
Aleria
Published in
4 min readAug 29, 2020

Have you ever spent 9 weeks on the job trying to understand the organization that you have become a part of and on the 10th week, when you finally get a hang of things, your experience at the organization has come to an end? Well, welcome to the life of an intern!

Through the four internship experiences that I have had, I have learned a lot. I have had internships that allowed me to hone in on the career path that was best for me and others that gave me invaluable professional skills that will serve me great in the future. I express all of that to say, internships can be extremely beneficial and can bear invaluable opportunities for the future, but if an intern does not feel included, it’s very difficult for them to receive the fruits of their labor.

From a self-proclaimed professional internist to all intern managers, here are the four things your intern is dying to tell you, but doesn’t have the guts to do so.

Tailor assignments to their career goals

You know when you’re reciting the names of every single US President in 8th grade AP History and you’re like “when am I ever going to use this?”. That’s the moment interns recall as we are in the midst of assignments that will not help us achieve our career goals. Many interns recite an experience where they have spent hours working on an assignment that was not beneficial to them or the company. At times, managers don’t know what assignments to give their interns and end up assigning them grunt work. My advice… just ask! Ask your intern what assignments would be most beneficial. Think back on the tasks that you perform and tailor assignments similar to those tasks. I promise you your intern will be forever thankful.

Create opportunities to build connections with others in the organization

Interns choose to work at organizations that they believe will benefit them down the line. There’s nothing like interning for your dream organization and being able to add them on your resume. Accepting an offer with that organization usually comes with the expectation of networking opportunities and feeling out the organization as a potential employer. When you invite your intern into meetings, don’t forget to provide an opportunity for them to introduce themselves to others in the organization. It’s always awkward when you’re an intern in the room and no one knows your name or who you are. As an intern, it’s important that we have the opportunity to be introduced to potential future colleagues and have exposure to other roles in the organization.

Understand their style of work

The most important question that I’ve been asked is “how do you like to work?”. I’ve always thought I would adapt to any work environment that was asked of me, so when I was asked this question, I was really pleased to express my preferred work style without feeling penalized. For example, I am not an early morning person. You will not catch me online at 6am. Give me two and half more hours and I am ready to start my workday!

Let’s take it a step further. Some people are not fond of working in collaborative settings every single day others need that environment in order to thrive. If you can control this type of environment for your intern, make sure you take their preference into consideration when making decisions on their behalf. When you understand your interns style of work, productivity levels are bound to rise and their overall job satisfaction is positive.

Invest in their personal lives

Interns know that they are there to gain experience and to fulfill a need for your organization, but don’t forget to treat them like any other one of your colleagues. Get to know them professionally, as well as personally. I am always happy when I connect with my former managers and they remember important events in my life such as my birthday or my graduation dates. These things are meaningful to interns because it helps them feel as if they aren’t disposable assets to the organization. I have had managers reach out to me and personally refer me to positions as well as managers who have taken the time after a long work day to show me around town.

Interns are extremely valuable to any organization. They provide a helping hand, feedback, and reflection for many organizations. The ability to curate a strong internships program consists of making your interns feel welcome, important, and included. The ability to do so in return will lead to insurmountable benefits to your organization and the possibility of establishing a pipeline of new future employees.

The reality is, interns come excited to work for organizations, but at times, the exclusivity leaves a bad taste in their mouths. Try to avoid that by implementing a few of these tips. The next thing you know, you’ll have future interns flooding your inbox just for the opportunity to work for your organization.

--

--

Barbara Kufiadan
Aleria
Writer for

Aspiring DEI Professional | UT Graduate Student | Ghanaian-American | Founder of COAE