Awake

A prose poem

Masha Zubareva
Alethiology
2 min readMar 23, 2024

--

A picture of the rising sun at sea. The sun peeps from behind a rock, half-uncovered. The sea and the sky are deep blue, divided by an orange stripe coloured by the morning sun.
Photo by Masha Zubareva

The timid glow of the dawn gently brushes off the ashes of yesterday’s not-enoughs. Restoring sanity, my cortex filters the remnants of the closed-eye psychedelic madness. Those quirky, patchy stories get substituted with the matter-of-fact images of the usual simulation. Relief. And a bit of regret? A quiet nostalgia for the parallel life ungrasped. Barely touched.

The sun–a narcissist, without doubt–grabs my glance, demands to leave every thought behind. No way to appease it either. If I stared for too long, I’d go blind and deprive the centre of its craved attention. Existential contradictions at daybreak… I learn to take it slow and forgo pleasing the whole world.

The morning swells; the frenzy intensifies. Lumen-obsessed, the light threatens my retina, commands me to get inside and live the day, the life. I obey with no objections. I know how to merge with the shadow. The guilty pleasures of darkness… To hide. To be… real, raw, naked.

I keep my clothes and skin on. About to dive into the macrocosm, I save others from too much exposure. Navigating the day’s fragments, I find the islands of solitude in the middle of crowds… To indulge in my mind’s shine and shade. To replay the early insights. And smile.

© Masha Zubareva 2024

My sincere gratitude to Alethiology and its editors for welcoming me to this space!

--

--