Routine

Alex Walling
Alex Walling
Published in
5 min readApr 5, 2020

--

Routine (noun.) a usual or fixed way of doing things

Given the current state of the world and everyone is stuck at home, we are all attempting to adjust to this new way of doing things.

I, like many others, have tried spending this time being more productive and having healthier outlets for spending my time. It certainly hasn’t been easy…

One of the ways I am spending my time is by trying to read more. I recently started a book called “101 Essays That Will Change The Way You Think” written by Brianna Wiest. [Thanks for the recommendation Kelsey Mullins]

As the title would suggest, it’s a selection of many short essays that really challenge the way you think about life and other interesting topics.

One of the essays that I recently read was called “The Psychology of Daily Routine

I think a lot about habits & finding new ways to be the best possible version of myself. While trying to improve myself, I frequently think about my routine and how it impacts my life.

Whenever I think about what a “routine” is, my first thought is always a morning or nightly routine.

“Wake up, make coffee, eat oatmeal, journal, meditate, start the day.”

“Cut off monitor usage an hour before bed, drink tea, brush…

--

--