My Dream Job

Alexander Calhoun
Alexander Calhoun
Published in
3 min readFeb 26, 2016

My dream job is to work as a sports journalist. I am currently not working my dream job or working at all. I have been a big sports fan for the majority of my life. I have always remembered statistics and where a player went to college. Also, what professional teams a player has played for. I love debating with people on everything.

I enjoyed watching Sportscenter in the morning when I was growing up. I wanted to work for ESPN. I liked how they presented the highlights. The catch phrases that some of the anchors used were entertaining. My favorite anchor was Stuart Scott who died after losing his battle against cancer in 2015. Stuart made watching Sportscenter fun.

I loved all of his catch phrases. Some my favorites were “Boo-Yah!”, “As cool as the other side of the pillow”, and “Holla at a playa when you see him in the street!”. I thought it would be fun to do that. I didn’t realize how much writing and preparation was involved in preparing for the broadcast. I learned that being a journalist would be difficult because I didn’t like writing.

After college, I started blogging and developed a love for writing. Everyone tells me I should write about sports but sometimes it’s difficult. I am not confident that what I am writing is good enough to share with others. Also, I don’t get a lot of traffic on my sports blog so I give up. I know I shouldn’t worry about what other people think and just do what I love.

I would love to have a job as a sports blogger but I have to get better at writing opinion pieces. I am working on that so I can write as a freelancer or have a permanent job. I will also use my podcast that is in the works to talk more about sports.

I blog because I like sharing my thoughts and opinions with others. Sports are a valuable part of my life and it allows me to forget about all that is bothering me. I think my love of sports is rooted deeply in the fact that I cannot play them. Watching people play something I cannot do is inspiring because of their love and passion for the game. I guess I’m living my dreams through someone else’s experience.

I am disabled and have been overcoming adversity my entire life. You have to overcome adversity in sports to win the game. The fight to overcome to reach the goal of victory is an everyday reality of my life. The experiences that I have had as a sports fan is the inspiration for my dream of being a sports journalist. I will need to work hard at it so I can achieve my dream. Even if I don’t, at least, I have this blog to continue writing about what I love.

--

--