Random Thoughts and Musings

Alexander Calhoun
Alexander Calhoun
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2017

This weekly writing challenge is off to a terrible start. I have gotten busy recently with learning how to code. I have been trying to master it for many years. I first learned to code in 1996 when I was in 8th grade. I learned it in computer class at my middle school. I created my own website but I did not stay with it. I think I lost the disk or it got thrown away by accident.

I think my parents bought me books on HTML and Javascript because I wanted to learn more. Well, they wasted their money because I did not use them at all. I might have looked through them but was not serious about it. While I was in college I took a class on web design but struggled with formatting my website to look nice.

When I went to college I wanted to major in computer science but I ended up majoring in business. My school did not have a computer science degree program but they had some math courses I could have taken. Then transfer to another school to do the computer science courses. I would have gone to another school that had computer science but I wanted to live on campus.

I went to St. Andrews University in Laurinburg, North Carolina. I went there because they had a dorm with 24-hour care for students with disabilities. They shutdown the program in May of 2006 because it was too expensive. I was not giving up the college experience to live at home to do the major that I wanted. I would have missed out on all the amazing people I met and made friends with. I would not have met the love of my life my fiancée, Angela.

Majoring in business was a mistake because it was boring and I never liked it. To this day I don’t know why I choose that major. After supporting the Iraq war which resulted in finding no weapons of mass destruction. I was young and stupid we all have been there. Finding out that the reason for the war was a lie, got me more interested in politics. Before that, I did not care much about it.

Politics has remained as a important part of my life. I have become involved with activism because people are still facing biases. I believe in protecting the rights of people of color with disabilities. That all black lives matter, LGBTQ rights, women’s rights. Now stopping Donald Trump’s racism and xenophobia. I don’t want to get more political than that on this blog for obvious reasons. I will be taking actions to defend what I believe in.

Now back to coding and why I am trying it again. I decided to give coding one more look because I am tired of doing nothing. When there are so many possibilities that I am missing. Now that I have discovered the website LaunchCode I plan to stick with it. I have a structured program to follow that can help me get job interviews for a new career in tech.

LaunchCode is a non-profit focused on empowering the unemployed and low wage workers. Also to help employers find talented people to hire for technology jobs. So far I am liking everything I have learned. All the courses they recommend are free and taken at your own pace. I am currently refreshing my skills on the basics through Codeacademy and Udacity. My goal is to be a Web Developer. I want to make mobile apps and website themes.

--

--