What I Want to Improve

Alexander Calhoun
Alexander Calhoun
Published in
2 min readMay 15, 2019

There are many things that I need to improve but if I had to choose one thing it would be to write more. Not only write more but write better. I want to share my personality and point of view with my readers in a interesting manner. That has been a major challenge that I am struggling to conquer.

I give up writing because I feel that it’s not good enough. Also I am boring people with uninteresting stories. I have been encouraged by friends and family that I should just write. Do not worry about how good it is you will improve with practice. The ideas will come to you over time. I keep telling myself to try and see what happens but for whatever reason it never does.

I need to stop procrastinating and fully commit to being a writer. The first step is to fully embrace that I am a writer. I have something of value to share with the world. I can do anything I put my mind to. Fear of failure is normal but it doesn’t mean I should give up. There is no such thing as trying to write. I am a writer, I am a writer, I AM A WRITER. I will do this and I will succeed. I just need to do it without listening to all the noise that is telling me I can’t.

Putting My Plan Into Action

I need to start small because big broad goals will never be reached. When I box myself into something I almost never stick to it. I will avoid doing that so I will continue to write freely. I will start by writing down what I am passionate about, my interests and my thoughts. Then tweet about things that are important to me as much as possible. Then start with writing a paragraph building up to writing a full post. I am going to avoid putting any parameters on this goal.

Holding Myself Accountable

The challenge is how I am going to actually hold myself accountable. I probably need to confide in someone close to me to help me do that. How do I measure whether or not I am actually doing what I plan to achieve. I don’t have the answer to that yet but I will come with something.

I am open to ideas from my readers. I would love to see what you will suggest. I might pick one of your ideas.

--

--