Why I Started Blogging

Alexander Calhoun
Alexander Calhoun
Published in
2 min readDec 20, 2016

I started blogging because I wanted to share my thoughts with the world. I started blogging in 2006 but I would rarely write because I was not comfortable with it.

With time and practice I became a better writer. I love to write now, it’s like therapy for me. I still don’t write often because of difficulty coming up with topics.

The blog has evolved over the years from sports to sharing my story. My story about my experiences living with a neuromuscular disease. I haven’t given up writing about sports. The 24-hour news cycle makes it difficult because stories get old.

This year I decided to challenge myself to write more. I picked 21 topics to write about throughout the year. I have only published about four posts so far. I’m working on outlining some of the others.

I want to incorporate disability rights and discuss ableism in future posts. Earlier this year I wrote a Facebook status about my distaste of the ableist movie “Me Before You”.

The film is based on the book by Jojo Moyes about a man who becomes a quadriplegic after an accident. He decides that he doesn’t want to live with a disability and ends his life. I haven’t watched the movie and don’t plan too.

Hollywood keeps making movies with non-disabled actors playing disabled characters. The stories that they tell give the impression that having a disability is so bad that it’s not worth living.

I want people to know that it is worth living and you can live a “normal” productive life. This blog is the best way for me to help change that. I will discuss ableism in further detail in another post.

--

--