Alex Sanders: the Vilification & Vindication of his Grandson.

Sharon Day
Alexandrian Witch
Published in
3 min readSep 22, 2017

And the Value of Historical Accuracy.

Perfect timing. Right smack on the Autumn Equinox in the eye of Category 5 Witch Winds, an innocent comes along to a newly-established FB group premised on Joy and Laughter and introduces himself as Alex Sanders’ grandson.

The group has only one rule: no profanity or personal attacks — with the added requirement of ‘kindness’. For all the magical beings that witches and occultists are supposed to be, one would think that kindness mixed with curiosity might lead them to ask questions before making judgments.

Nope.

The popcorn gifs and ‘troll’ labels flowed in and soon created a distasteful ribbon of comments. Blinded and bewildered, the poor chap instantly sputtered forth honest facts in response to a machine-gun fire of jeers — his mother’s name, Janice; that she was Alex’s daughter; his brother’s name; etc.

Meanwhile, the sensible-minded searched public records which verified his statements; Ray Lindfield set about searching historical documents, posted below; I confirmed facts with Maxine who was on her morning walk.

How did the innocent respond? Graciously.

Fortunately, some of those who wrongly judged him had the integrity and maturity to apologise. Alas, it was too late and he left the group, sadly — before the ultimate vindication of him could be posted:

Courtesy: Ray Lindfield

Before he left the group, he did share this bit of history though . . .

Hi, Well it first started when i was having my breakfast on the week Alex passed i was aged 12 when i noticed my Mum looked a bit emotional I asked what was a matter she dismissed me but i persued to get an answer, then my Mum shown me the paper with a big picture of a man that said Alex sanders died and she told me that was my grandad… She was very brief on explaining anything but did mention he was a warlock? of such… I never really asked questions about it after that, but my mates always used to wind me up about i.t Until my Mum and partner went shopping maybe 6, 7 plus years ago or more. my mum was dropped off and on the way home the taxi driver said i used to be a neighbour of Janice in Hulme Manchester. and that her Father was Alex Sanders King of the witches.. So my partner looked it up on line and phoned me rather startled, I had to calm her for a second then she explained what happened and said i look so much like him!! Then obviously i did my homework over time hear and there learning all the things about his life etc..It’s been rather interesting to say the least! That’s pretty much it in a nut shell! I think about him a lot so i look him up now and again and noticed this group I thought it might be intriguing to put it out there thanks

There are a multitude of lessons to be learned from this, perhaps the most important one is that kindness is the avenue for allowing the beauty of the Craft to come through.

--

--