Love

Feeling Down From Rejection? Do This!

Why Does Rejection Feel So Devastating?

Ali Alzahrani, Ph.D
Alfajer
Published in
4 min readApr 21, 2024

--

Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Rejection is heartbreaking. It is the time that questions like this:

What if I am ugly?

Maybe I am not enough?

Maybe I have no value?

Light up in your head! In fact, Light up is an easy word. I would say, heat up your head, break up your heart, and burn out your soul.

Most rejection traumas come from romantic relationships, and I wish I had a personal experience other than friendship rejection that I could share to make the subject appeal much better to all of you, but I do not.

People who had the same experience and underwent similar pains were best able to comfort others. I am not going to discuss rejection in romantic relationships only. Instead, this article’s discussion covered any type of rejection, such as friendship, culture, family, or even the rejection of life itself. When someone tries so hard, like the homeless I mentioned in this article, but nothing works for him, it is akin to a silent rejection of life.

What would you call a life that keeps striking the poor who live in an area with frequent natural disasters, wars, limited resources, bad…

--

--

Ali Alzahrani, Ph.D
Alfajer

Engineer and researcher, pens insightful pieces on Medium about life philosophies, cinema, health, and culture. Inquiries: aliwritesaz@gmail.com