Just like that, things go by.

Reality or a distant memory? It’s a blur.

Zyra
Alfajer
2 min read6 days ago

--

Photo by Kunj Parekh on Unsplash

It feels unreal that I am almost 30, and it just doesn’t register to me that so much time has passed. When I look back, some memories seem so distant as if they were part of another life. I feel, just like that time went by.

Just like that, one day you met your childhood friend for the last time and you didn’t even realize.

Just like, that, you went out to play one last time, unaware you wouldn’t be returning to the playground.

Just like, that, you went to your school for the last time and bid farewell to your classmates.

Just like that, one day, your favorite teacher left without notice only for you to find the news the next day.

Just like that, one day you left the city you grew up in never to return.

Just like that, the person you met and felt as if you knew them for ages became a stranger, right in front of you.

Just like that, your coworker friend whose priorities changed never looked back.

All relationships have an expiry they say

But I don’t think so

You can’t delete a person or an experience from your memory, right?

It stays.

I still miss having lunch with my childhood friend under the tall shady eucalyptus tree.

I still miss the warmth of my teacher's hug and how she appreciated me when I was dressed up.

I still miss the version of my mother who didn’t dislike me.

I still miss the assurance, safe space, and tolerance of the person who promised to spend an eternity with me.

No, relationships aren’t temporary.

Even if they end abruptly or knowingly they stay forever.

Some say longing is a trap, it cripples you. So, move on.

But the reality is you can’t just move on.

You may move far far away, thinking you have travelled miles, but if you look back, the distant figures remain.

Goodbyes are hard.

It’s easier to long than to bid farewell,

to look back,

to know that a person genuinely cherished you,

to feel that pleasant memory that once existed.

You do so to maybe keep the doors open for them to return.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 🩶🩶🩶. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

--

--

Zyra
Alfajer
Writer for

Writing driven by grief | Prose | Depth