Self

Who is an Adult?

Becoming an adult takes time and is different for everyone.

Ali Alzahrani, Ph.D
being
Published in
3 min readMar 30, 2024

--

Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

I remember the first time I was allowed to issue a driver’s license; I was 18 years old, the legal age to be considered an adult. Anyway, it was an exciting moment. I recall holding the ID in my hand with a deep content and enjoyment feeling that cannot be described. I felt refreshment, control, and freedom. I said, now I can drive my own car.

Wait a second, but why 18 years? Why not 17 years- 11 months? Would that work? What about 18 years minus one day? Would this work, instead? No, none of them works. You must be 18 years old to be considered an adult.

To me, being an adult is not a black-and-white thing. It depends on the person. Some people mature faster than others. The driver’s license and voting age used to be 18, but maybe that is too old for some people and too young for others.

I saw many young people act like adults, and many adult people act like children. That’s why I think it depends on the person, and it has nothing to do with age, at least after the teenage years.

Countries have different rules for when you become an adult. Some let 16-year-olds vote. In some cultures, people have special celebrations when they grow up at various ages. It’s hard to agree on one age…

--

--

Ali Alzahrani, Ph.D
being
Editor for

Founder of Alfajer Publication https://medium.com/alfajer, write about life philosophies, cinema, health, academia,and culture. Inquiries: aliwritesaz@gmail.com