175 Stanton Street

Delfino
ALFEW
Published in
May 10, 2022
175 Stanton Street, L’Ecu pastels on paper 8"x10" ©Delfino Cornali 2022

On a travel to New York four years ago, while wandering New York, I came across a set of brick apartment buildings near the corner of Stanton & Clinton Streets on Manhattan’s Lower East Side. To me, these buildings captured the essence of an older New York. I’ve wanted to paint this vignette ever since.

I finished it yesterday (working in my studio snowbound by a freak May snowstorm.)

I’m playing with a much looser technique with this piece. Brickwork as dashes of orange; air conditioner is a stroke of blue; the storefront canopy, a swath of yellow. The borders are less defined, as if only the six windows and their eyebrows are in focus.

I’m enjoying this newly found freedom in my technique. I’m have a few more pieces in mind with which I’ll similarly experiment.

--

--

Delfino
ALFEW
Writer for

Pastel artist, bread baker, runner, backpacker, traveler, gardener, mosaicist, @home in the Idaho foothills w/my partner Michele enjoying owl/coyote serenades.