Kohala Reserve at Sunset

a cloudforest at the end of the road beckons at sunset

Delfino
ALFEW
Apr 1, 2024

--

Kohala Reserve at Sunset, l’ecu pastels on canvas 16"x12" ©Delfino Cornali 2024

During my stay on the Big Island town of Kamuela, Hawaii (also known as Waimea, not to be confused with Kawaii’s Waimea) I learned the town has two distinctive climates. Often when the town center is sunny, the east side would be engulfed in misty clouds.

One afternoon this winter, when the border dividing dry from wet moved up the hill, I witnessed this scene. The sunset illuminated the grasses of the cattle pasture in yellows & golds. But the forest reserve just below the hill named “Kaala” was cloaked in the swirling dark clouds. The contrast mesmerized me.

I worked with softer pastels on canvas for this work, letting both textures carry the impressions of the swirling clouds, grasses, tropical trees.

Inspiration: 64–5323 Puu Nanea Street, Kamuela, Hawaii

Delfino

--

--

Delfino
ALFEW

Pastel artist, bread baker, runner, backpacker, traveler, gardener, mosaicist, @home in the Idaho foothills w/my partner Michele enjoying owl/coyote serenades.