Sweet Peas & Vase II

Delfino
ALFEW
Published in
Apr 28, 2022
Sweet Peas & Vase II, l’ecu pastels on paper, ©Delfino Cornali 2010

A chance photo several years ago on a sunny morning. I’d picked a few sweet peas from my garden and put them in a small blue vase on the patio table. The California sun was very strong that morning, which caused the photo to darken the background (in what was otherwise a sunny garden scene). Five years previously, I did a smaller version of this subject using NuPastel chalks. I sold it at a Seattle art show.

A year later, my niece asked if she could commission a larger version of this subject. So I began working a larger & bolder version.

Here I use Sennelier’s soft l’Ecu pastels. I chose a bolder palette than the original, adding more detail in the petals, and working consciously to capture the flowers’ translucency.

--

--

Delfino
ALFEW
Writer for

Pastel artist, bread baker, runner, backpacker, traveler, gardener, mosaicist, @home in the Idaho foothills w/my partner Michele enjoying owl/coyote serenades.