Waipi’o Lookout

a vista from the Big Island’s Honokaa Coast

Delfino
ALFEW
1 min readFeb 3, 2024

--

Waipi’o Lookout, watercolor pencil & pastel on watercolor paper, 4”x6”

The Honokaa coastline is breathtakingly beautiful. Tall, rugged cliffs tower above rocky shoreline, powerful waves crash against the cliffs. The steep hike down to the valley hairpins through a canopy of trees. And what appeared to be an idyllic, tranquil scene from 300 meters above the sea, at closer range suggests a respectful distance. Awe and respect.

This piece I rendered with watercolor pencils. Firstly, a base “wash” for the major sections. Then an overlay of more concentrated pigment that I pull off the pencils with a wet brush. After that, some pencil-point work for the foreground foliage. Then a light layer of pastels — more to capture my intended colors. Finally, a fixative spray (Krylon UV Archival matte).

Although I’m enjoying the process of learning to use watercolor pencils, I’m finding the small format a bit constraining. I think larger sizes will let the watercolors breathe and give the piece more of the textures and feel of watercolors.

I’ll mail this card to our neighbors in Idaho on Monday…

Inspiration: Waipi’o Lookout, Honokaa, Hawaii

Delfino

--

--

Delfino
ALFEW

Pastel artist, bread baker, runner, backpacker, traveler, gardener, mosaicist, @home in the Idaho foothills w/my partner Michele enjoying owl/coyote serenades.