Water Lily Mosaic

Delfino
ALFEW
Published in
Jul 29, 2022
Water Lily, marble/travertine mosaic, 12"x12" ©Delfino Cornali 2022

This is the first in a series of eight stepping stone mosaic pieces which I will install into a large patch of thyme ground cover in the garden. I employed the indirect technique for this piece, where each of the tesserae are fixed face down onto paper. I mixed a custom thinset (white Versabond pigmented with red ochre and natural umber) which I poured onto the back of the design, then cemented onto a 12" round cement paver.

Colors (from outer to inner): peacock green; giallo reale; scarabas travertine; red travertine; claret red travertine; Teos green; Aegean silver. All pieces cut using hammer & hardie.

--

--

Delfino
ALFEW
Writer for

Pastel artist, bread baker, runner, backpacker, traveler, gardener, mosaicist, @home in the Idaho foothills w/my partner Michele enjoying owl/coyote serenades.