Meet Sébastien Navizet, Creative Director at Algolia

Tiphaine Gillet
Algolia Design

--

Sébastien joined Algolia nearly 3 years ago, first as a Brand Designer. Throughout those three years he helped refined our Brand, built and consolidated the team of 4 designers. Some of us know already that he is a hand lettering nerd and that his desk is always the most tidy but I thought it would be nice to introduce our Brand Director a bit more properly.

Hey Seb, could you tell us a bit more about your background?

I initially graduated in mathematics and physics, but I realized that becoming an engineer in chemistry or in aeronautic wasn’t something that was made for me. I was afraid of quickly becoming bored. That’s why I decided to leave everything behind. At that time I started to look for something I loved instead of something that would make money… and my only passion was to use Photoshop (it was in 2009, don’t judge me :- ) ).
Becoming a designer wasn’t even an option in my mind. I decided to try advertising. After few years attending advertising school, I started to work in ad agencies such as Publicis and others less known. A friend of mine then recruited me in his own web agency. We were 4 at the time and I was the only designer. Words like “app” and “responsive” were recent buzzwords and that’s where I started to create digital designs. It’s only after this experience that I gravitated toward branding design as a freelancer because that was the part of the job I enjoyed the most.

What was the turning point in your life when you decided to become a designer?

I will always remember this test I was taking trying to join a aeronautic engineering school : the question was about Maxwell’s equations transposed to a 3D rotating magnetic field around a copper sphere. The equation was so complex and so inhuman that I told myself “I can’t live my whole life in the middle of those awful equations!”
When I think of it now, this career was not something I was made for and I knew it since the very first day. This scientific world also made me want to simplify problems to be quickly understood. That’s part of what made me become a designer, first for advertising, then for products and brands.

What was the first logo you ever designed?

I still remember it, I was so proud! It was for a small driving school near my parents’ house that wanted a unique branding. I created something with a lot of energy and passion, delivered the best result I could and was soooo happy about it! Three weeks later I saw one of their cars passing by… They changed their name, tweaked my logo, added some colors, put information everywhere on the car. Even their address in Comic Sans MS! That was my first real lesson as a professional designer! (laugh)

What do you know now that you wish you knew upon graduating?

Ugly performing design is better than beautiful ineffective design. At least in the minds of your customers!

What are the five tools that you’re touching on a daily basis right now?

The tool I love the most is obviously my Ipad Pro 2. I love this device, I use it to draw lettering with procreate or as a second screen at work with my Macbook Pro and the Duet App, allowing me to have a full mobile double-screen setup. I’m a big user of Illustrator to make everything creative and then import it into Sketch to put layouts in place, and if possible create responsive assets (for banners for example).
So Ipad Pro, Macbook Pro, Procreate, Illustrator, Sketch are my 5 tools! I’m not really a paper/pencil guy I must confess.

In your opinion what’s the best and worst part of your job as a designer?

The best part is obviously that you can create emotions with your work. As a designer, if you do an amazing job, people will really be grateful and share those positive emotions with you! This recognition, even for 5 seconds, is what I strive for as a designer.

On the other side, the part I like the less is that everyone believes they can be a designer. That means that sometimes, some people think they could have done a better job than you. But they don’t always realize the amount of constraints you have when putting together a piece of design.

What’s the most important piece of advice you have received as a designer that’s helped you?

Creativity is like a muscle. Everybody accepts that sometimes athletes perform poorly because they are tired and need to rest a bit. Same goes for a designer, don’t push yourself too hard, you can’t always be performing at your top level. Take some time to rest and make your come back even stronger!

What’s your dream project ?

I’d like to create a small but renowned brand design studio. Less than 10 people, but kicking ass. Having our own studio in a warehouse where we have room to create graphics, draw on big pieces of paper, take pro photos in a studio, exhibit some of our work during events, sell some custom made unique products. In one word : a creative family place.

To end up on a personal touch, tell us what's your favorite design piece ?

Graphic design : We the people, by Obey
https://obeygiant.com

Industrial design : The smoked bulb of Buster & Punch, https://www.busterandpunch.com/buster-bulb-smoked

--

--