Can Proper Food Combining Cure Your Digestive Woes?

The ancient Ayurvedic philosophy that encourages better digestion and more mindful eating.

Amanda Bourbonais
All About Health
7 min readJul 22, 2020

--

Photo by Pablo Merchán Montes on Unsplash

My history with trying different diets to get some digestive relief has been rocky, at best.

At worst, it led to me obsessing over everything I consumed and ultimately eating barely anything except bone broth.

It was a dark time, and not something anyone should put themselves through.

Fortunately, I’ve learned to take a much more balanced approach since then, but I’m still always tinkering with what, when, and how I eat to achieve digestive greatness. *cue golden light shining down from the heavens*

Recently, two practitioners I trust talked about the benefits of food combining, and I thought I would give it a shot to see if my system responded well. I’ve only been at it for about a couple of weeks, but here are some of the rules and benefits I’ve noticed so far.

Avocado toast is totally a food combining approved meal! Photo by Anna Pelzer on Unsplash

The basic rules of food combining

Combine:

  • Fruits and berries (except melons)
  • Vegetables and proteins
  • Vegetables and “veggie-fruits” (avocado, cucumber, peppers, etc.)
  • Vegetables and starches/grains (complex carbohydrates)

Don’t combine:

  • Melons with anything (eat them on their own)
  • Proteins and Starches (the big one)
  • Fruits and berries and vegetables
  • Fruits and berries and proteins
  • Fruits and berries and veggie-fruits

Now, to be completely honest, I’m not sold on this method just yet, and the rules do seem to vary a little depending on which source you consult.

It’s also a little more on the restrictive side, and for reasons I mentioned earlier, I’m definitely more wary of restrictive diets. But, I think some of the principles do stand up for me personally.

I know that I have difficulty digesting grains and starches of any kind, combined with just about anything. This may be due to my issues with candida overgrowth, but they are also generally harder for the body to break down, for anyone.

I have, for a period of time, been completely grain- and starch-free, and it did cut down my bloating and discomfort by a lot. But were my meals as satisfying? Not quite.

I can deal without bread, but ya girl loves potatoes. And despite what some dubious dieting advice would have you believe, carbs are good for you and give you energy. But again, only if you’re digesting them properly.

Steak fries followed by a big green salad would be a properly combined meal. Photo by Dan Counsell on Unsplash

Those in favor of food combining

Proponents of food combining say that eating certain foods together allows for easier digestion due to the right balance of alkaline or acid foods, as well as dense or light foods.

The theory goes that acidic foods and alkaline foods require differing levels of stomach acid and digestive enzymes for the body to digest, so combining them improperly “confuses” the body and creates insufficient digestion.

This means that food becomes stagnant in the digestive tract, starts to ferment, and encourages the wrong kind of microbes to grow wildly. You end up with bloating, gas, constipation, diarrhea, cramping, and one messed up gut microbiome.

Too many dense foods overwhelm the digestive system and slow it down (constipation), and too many light foods cause it to overwork (diarrhea).

There can be a lot of complicated rules, but a good rule of thumb, as Megan from Detoxinista describes, is to pick one food from the category of fruits/berries, starches, nuts/seeds, and healthy fats, and load up the rest of your plate with cooked or raw veg.

Your body only ever has to deal a maximum of two types of foods at once, which leads to better digestion, and often means you eat less than you would if you were eating a “properly balanced” meal with a starch or grain, vegetable, and protein.

Photo by Anna Pelzer on Unsplash

Those Against Food Combining

Those who oppose food combining cite the lack of scientific research supporting its claims, which is true. Food combining is based in Ayurvedic philosophy and a more “simplistic” understanding of the human digestive system.

However, while dietitians may reject the scientific claims behind food combining, they generally agree with its role in promoting mindfulness while eating, which can certainly help us digest better.

The rules of food combining also prohibit common meals of the Standard American Diet, like hamburgers, pasta and meatballs, and pizza, which we know can contribute to bloating and indigestion on their own for many people.

In general, encouraging a focus on whole fruits and vegetables, healthy fats, and proteins is going to improve anyone’s digestive health.

The bottom line is basically, it can’t hurt, but it might help.

Photo by Christine Siracusa on Unsplash

My experience with food combining so far

Proper food combining has definitely decreased my bloating by a lot. Last night, I had salmon, green beans, and a side salad for dinner, and I felt pleasantly full but not stuffed afterwards, and there was little to no bloating.

I have to admit, I do miss the feeling of having grains or starches with my protein though. Normally, I would have the salmon, green beans, and a side of brown rice and quinoa, and I don’t know why, but there’s something about the combination of the salmon and the rice/quinoa mixture that’s super tasty. (I mean, there’s a lot of garlic involved, so maybe that’s the reason.)

But I also really like the idea of eating just a pile of baked sweet potato fries and a salad as a whole meal. With standard meal planning rules of protein + starch + veg, that would never occur to me as being a full meal, but food combining says it is.

I like that on the whole, it’s a simpler way to eat, just because you’re only ever preparing two types foods for one meal. But on the other hand, it does limit the variety a little bit.

On the other, other hand, I just ate half a baby watermelon for breakfast, and it was super delicious and refreshing, and I feel great. Who knew?

My food combining tips

  • Salads are your friend for full and satisfying meals. If you’re having a protein + cooked veg combination for dinner, have a crunchy side salad to complete the meal. Eating your salads at the end of the meal also encourages a “sweeping” effect in the digestive system, where the fibrous leaves help push the rest of the food down the line and encourage good bowel movements.
  • Eat your food slowly and mindfully. Chew each bite at least 10 times and swallow before picking up your next bite. Appreciate the flavors. Take some deep breaths before and during the meal. We’re all usually rushing through our meals to get to the next activity or task, but meals should be savored and enjoyed. Slow and mindful eating can have a huge impact on digestion. (I’m still working on this too!)
  • The more color, the better. For some reason, I find that more colorful meals are more satisfying. Somewhere along the line, the visual appeal translates to digestive appeal. And it’s fun to make pretty food, IMO. Get creative with it!
  • Don’t be afraid to eat different kinds of meals at non-traditional times. This might sound weird, but here’s what I mean. If you’re craving a hearty bowl of oatmeal for dinner instead of breakfast, go for it. If you want some delicious pan-seared chicken and roasted broccoli for your first meal of the day, go for it. I think this is one of the greatest things about food combining; it gets you to consider your meals differently and follow your intuition a little bit more, since whatever you’re eating is going to be properly combined.
  • If you’re really having trouble with food combining, follow the 80/20 rule. 80% of the time, follow food combining rules for your meals, 20% of the time, eat whatever combinations you want. I would say this translates to 2–3 “cheat” meals per week. If you have less serious digestive issues, you may still see some benefit and enjoy an “improperly” combined meal every now and then. This also takes some of the stress off eating meals with family or going out to restaurants — just relax and enjoy yourself; that’s important for digestion too.
Photo by Ella Olsson on Unsplash

Give it a try

If you have digestive issues, give food combining a try and see if it helps. As with any change in diet, there’s going to be an adjustment period. But if it decreases your digestive issues and increases your energy, it could certainly be worth the change.

If you do give it a go, come back and let me know how it went!

--

--

Amanda Bourbonais
All About Health

Writing and reading to get better — in health, in life, and with quality dance moves. Holistic Health Copywriter/Editor. She/her.