Why You Need to Know About Artificial Dyes

Shelley Moore
All About Health
Published in
4 min readAug 26, 2019

--

Recently I was diagnosed as being anemic. I suppose this should not have come as a great surprise. I consume very little meat and my diet lately has not exactly included a large amount of dark leafy greens.

So after making some tweaks to my grocery list, I also decided to invest in an iron supplement.

Tired and eager to get home after a late hot yoga class last week, I stopped briefly at the pharmacy to buy an iron supplement. On just about any other day you’d find me scrutinizing the ingredient label, but I was exhausted and without looking twice, I hastily paid for the recommended iron supplement and was on my way.

The next day, when looking over the ingredients in the iron pills, I was surprised when I saw that in addition to other harmful non-medicinal ingredients, such as sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) and carrageenan, there were 4 dyes added to my iron supplements. These included: Yellow 6, Red 2, Red 3 and Yellow 10.

Reading the ingredients off a few other popular iron supplements, I found much the same. Generally three to four artificial colours such as Red 28, Yellow 10 and Red 40.

Artificial dyes present so many products we use every day.

What are the risks posed by these dyes?

Red 2: In the US, the the Food and Drug Administration banned the use of Red 2, after…

--

--

Shelley Moore
All About Health

Nutrition Nerd 🥑 Lifelong Learner 📚 Unschooler 🌱 Outdoor Enthusiast 🏞 Grateful Mama 👶🏻 World Traveler 🌍 Connector 🔗 — Join me! 💛🙏🏼✨☀️!