Adventures in the Dominican Republic

Our Journey through Damajagua Waterfalls

Mary Katherine Wills
All About Surrounding
3 min readSep 15, 2023

--

It was a warm December day in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. My then-boyfriend, now-husband and I hiked 40 minutes uphill through a lush jungle. We enjoyed the green trees, the dirt trail and the company around us. Once we arrived at the top of our destination, we were amazed by the beauty of waterfalls, slides and pools of water carved into limestone rock.

Credit: Mary Wills

Looking below with adrenaline pumping, I see a 25-foot drop off of a cliff into a pool of water. The tour guides encouraged my husband and I to jump first. He agreed, eager to get the adventure started.

Credit: Mary Wills

Wearing a life vest and helmet, I jumped off the cliff, pencil diving deep into the chilly pool of water and then immediately shooting back up. I quickly took a breath of air and swam towards my husband, to make room for the next tourist to jump right in. After that first jump, I was craving the next one.

Credit: Mary Wills

As I swam through the chilly but inviting river, pushing through the current, tasting the water with every stroke, I was amazed by the stunning natural beauty of the surroundings. The water was murky blue, and the rocks underneath were smooth and slippery. It was like swimming in an enormous natural aquarium, surrounded by new flora and fauna.

Credit: Mary Wills

The further we continued our journey, jumping and sliding down rockslides from one pool to the next, the more exhilarating the experience became. When we got to the end, we experienced a sense of accomplishment. It was the first time either of us had ever experienced something like this.

Credit: Mary Wills

We dried off and headed back to the van, exhausted and impressed by Damajagua Waterfalls.

Looking out the window, I was rewarded with a breathtaking view of the lush jungle and the mountains in the distance.

Photo by Aleksandra Sapozhnikova on Unsplash

If you want to read more about my traveling adventures, you can click here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.

--

--

Mary Katherine Wills
All About Surrounding

A millennial jet setter and psychotherapist who is passionate about traveling and mental health. Featured on WKYC and Cleveland.com.