On being tired, falling behind, and wanting to give up

ADB-160517#216

Jason Theodor
All-Day Breakfast
2 min readMay 22, 2016

--

160517 All-Day Breakfast—On being tired, falling behind, and wanting to give up—#216

The last few months have given rise to plenty of life challenges and distractions. And I expect the next few months to be same. And the next. Ad infinitum. Or more accurately, ad mortem.

This past week, I stopped getting up early to create All-Day Breakfast. Instead I slept in.

I stopped drinking lemon water because I ran out of lemons and didn’t purchase more. Instead I drank coffee.

I stopped taking interesting pictures with my phone. Instead I goofed around with Snapchat filters and read Flipboard articles.

I stopped capturing my thoughts. Instead I played FreeCell.

I stopped reading books altogether. Instead I watched Netflix.

Life can be one giant slide toward sloth and entropy, especially when stress or hardships arise.

So now I’m nine (NINE!) issues behind on All-Day Breakfast and fighting the Resistance (Steven Pressfield’s name for the demon that blocks our most important work). How do you fight Resistance? You show up and do the work. You “turn pro,” as Pressfield says. You play through the injury and illness. Even if that illness is inertia.

It would be so easy to give up, to say I’m too far behind, to pull myself from the game.

But I’m not an amateur any longer. I’m here to do the work. I’m going pro, goddamn it, even if it kills me.

That’s the key antidote I’ve been missing: a job title. As Senior Writer & Chief Editor of All-Day Breakfast, I sincerely apologize for the delayed issues. They are forthcoming.

Resistance is futile.

⇠PREVIOUS (ADB is professional grade) NEXT⇢

All-Day Breakfast is a daily reflection on creativity and the human condition in the modern age. This is issue #216 of 555.

Join the All-Day Breakfast Club newsletter for sporadic updates and more!

--

--

Jason Theodor
All-Day Breakfast

is an Executive Design Leader, Speaker, Writer, Consultant who is trying to comprehend his surroundings. Find more at JasonTheodor.com