Music Monday 2018 — #2

Matt Hagner
All in the Couch
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2018

January 8th, 2018.

It’s Monday again, and you know what that means. All in the Couch is putting together another playlist of 20 songs to soothe your ear canals and make your work week a little less hellish.

Alek’s Choices

“Dog” by Charlie Parr
I’ve been hanging out with my aunt’s dog all week as she’s gone on vacation. This song has been on repeat.

“Everybody Knows ” by Marah in the Mainsail
This is my roommates band and this is their most regularly played song. Get down with the groove!

“Tell it Like it is ” by Annie Mack
A new up and comer from Rochester. This song hit me so hard I reached out to Annie and personally thanked her for the great songwriting.

“Afterglow ” by Asgier
Gives me goosebumps every time.

“Pretty Pimpin” by Kurt Vile.
This is how I’ve been feeling lately in this gloomy, wintery state of mind.

Nick’s Choices

“BOOGIE” by BROCKHAMPTON
There is so much energy in this song. Brockhampton did big things in 2017 and I expect more in 2018.

“South City Court” by Too Many T’s
An English rap duo. Just a catchy song over a nice beat.

“On My Mind” by Anderson East
Sounds like a combo of Chet Faker and Hozier.

“Misty Blue” by Dorothy Moore
1976 R&B tune that I keep going back to.

“Panorama” by Daniel Lanois
Some of the most beautiful pedal steel guitar playing I’ve ever heard.

Walt’s Choices

“Din Din Wo” by Habib Koite & Bamada
I remember discovering this album with the release of Windows Vista in 2006 (it was included in the default music player). The song just came back around in my shuffled playlist, so I had to share. A very chill tune with one of my all time favorite drum beats. *Side note, I very much recommend seeing him live if you ever have the opportunity.

“Number 9” by Moon Hooch
Nick turned me on to this group and we recently went to see them at The Fine Line in Minneapolis. If you have to ask why I picked this, you wouldn’t understand.

“Marquee Moon” by Television
Long live CBGB!

“Whisper to a Scream (Birds Fly)” by The Icicle Works
I recently spent some time with my good friend Laura (#musicfamily) and we rung in the New Year with an entire evening of 80’s alternative music. This one’s for the memories!

“Everyone knows Juanita” by Gael Garcia Bernal
Jackie and I went to see the movie Coco this weekend. This song came from a particularly touching moment in the film. It’s nice to see Pixar keeping kids interested in music!

Matt’s Choices

“The Sun” by Tigers Jaw
If you don’t start off your Monday with a little Tigers Jaw you’re doing it wrong.

“Why You so Short” by bong mountain
This song is all about friendship, and being nice to people. And the awkwardness of middle school. Who can’t relate?

“Havre De Grace” by Forever Losing Sleep
Great atmospheric song.

“Never Be Good Enough” by everett
everett is one of the most sonically interesting bands I’ve stumbled on in a long time.

“Eating Puke” by Slow Bullet
A song about hypocrites. 👍

2018 Playlist

--

--

Matt Hagner
All in the Couch

Market, Automate, Systematize. Efficiency is 🔑. Also 🎧 is life.