A Photo Journal

Abby Hellmann
All is Fair in Love and Water
3 min readApr 19, 2017
My cousin’s wedding 2016

Family. It’s not something you choose but it is something that you have. Whether they are blood relatives or friends, everyone can find a sense of family in their lives. I have included this section to enrich my project somewhat and to share my beautiful family with the world. I believe these photos of my family members can express more about who we are and what family means to us.

1890–1950s

Herman Mueler (3rd from the left), my grandpa’s great uncle
WWII Tags 1945
My grandpa’s tags from WWII. He wore them when he was 18 in 1945
Richard Hellmann “Poppy” 1951
My mom’s parents in high school around 1939

1960–1997

My dad and his siblings! Left to Right: Aunt Jill, Aunt Laurie, My dad, Aunt Debbie, and Uncle Eddie in 1965
My dad in 1974, age 10 vs now at 53
Family Quilt my Great Grandmother made in 1978
My mom (second from the right) and her friends in the 80s
My mom (left) as a Sophomore with her friend Helen in 1982
Paris, June 1991. From left to right: Barbara Hellmann, Richard Hellmann, Lucy Dover, Donna Hellmann, Dianna Hellmann, Leah Gamba, and Joel Craig
This was made for me when I was born in 1997

2000–2017

From left to right: Aunt Lizzie, Me at age 4, Uncle Scott, and my brother Alex
Me and my brother Alex in 2002
My brother and I in 2005 with our friends
Me taveling to Hawaii in 2009
Annual Christmas Cookie Bake 2011
Eva “Gigi” Graham 2013
Last names of my dad’s side of the family; beach trip 2011
Family cruise 2012
My cousin’s dancing hula, a Polynesian dance form, in Hawaii
My cousin Amelia dancing with pu’ili, a hula instrument in Maui, Hawaii 2012
Graham Family Trip to Africa 2015
Uncle Scott’s Wedding 2016
High School Graduation 2016
UGA Georgia Florida Game Freshman Year. From left to right: Emily, Tyler, Griffin, and me!
Polaroid of Professor Simrill shaking our hands on the last day of class! Seating Chart (left side of classroom to right, student’s point of view, facing the board): Me, Ashley Kwon, Justin Jeon, Marie Walker, Jason Narkoff, David Lance Grimes, Justin Schreiner, Rishi Bombaywala, Saylor Nolan, Macy Bazzell, Conner Hicks, Marissa Phillips, Rachel Fricker, Olivia J Hooks, Christopher Lipscomb, Jessica Douglas, Paula Cuadrado, Allison Little, Lindsay Van Houten, and Hima Velaga.

--

--