Ashleigh M.
All The Little Things
1 min readApr 25, 2019

--

you warned me the best was yet to come

did you mean me, or another?

remember, you whispered to me before we fell asleep

the best is yet to come

was that before or after you pushed me to the others?

you condemned through tears, I was the best you’d yet to come

well why, I wonder, did you leave me so alone?

because if the best is yet to come, then

why am i standing here waiting for validation?

because if my best had yet to come, and she came to me,

I wouldn’t waste time with any other

I wouldn’t take the chance of losing her

I wouldn’t blame her for the pain I’ve caused her

he said the best was yet to come,

before he realized his best was yet to leave him.

follow @themessywrites on IG for more

--

--

Ashleigh M.
All The Little Things

Comfort-obsessed, unfixed being. Always trying. Continually coming to be. Currently working on Dark Matter: the publication where unspoken thoughts find words.