Off The Beaten Path in Italy

Paestum — Discover and Explore The “Quiet” Parts of Italy

Greek Ruins Close To Rome.

Temples of Hera and Neptune / Photo by Larissa Merriman

I used to dream about being a travel writer. It seemed like the best job in the world - and one I’d be suited for. After all, I love to write and I love to travel and I’m reasonably good at both. What could be better?

As it turns out, anyone else could be a better travel writer than me. Because I am a lazy traveler. I don’t actually like to do much while I’m on holiday, other than eat and drink. And what little I do see, I’m not so great at writing about. Especially if it all requires authentic facts and documentation.

But, this year, I decided I’d give it another go. My family holiday in Italy came to end more than twelve week ago, but at last I’ve written down a few words to share with the 5 readers regular readers I have here on Medium.

A quiet place in Italy

Like old stuff but hate crowds. Then the first stop on my recent Italian adventure is for you. The town of Paestum. Three years ago I’d spent a brief afternoon here, and it was enough to convince me to return and see spend the night so I could see the ruins lit up at night. There is always danger in the attempt to recreate magic from earlier trips (we failed…

--

--

Larissa S. Merriman
All The World’s A Stage But The Play Is Badly Cast

Transplanted Alaskan in LA who dreams of life in Paris. I write and (now also direct) stories about love, loss and gender inequality. Widow.