The Resurgence of the Indy Bookstore

Kevin M. Mitchell
All Things St. Louis
3 min readMar 7, 2019

The news of Barnes & Noble looking to shut down completely made me sad enough to post something about it on FB. An old friend took me to the woodshed over it, reminding me how that 90s Goliath strategically and purposely annihilated competition — the beloved independent bookstore — thus I should save my crocodile tears. It gave me pause because he was right. (He’s also a former employee of a beloved West Hollywood independent bookstore that was run out of business, unable to compete with the massive deals publishers unfairly gave these big boxes that they denied to smaller stores. A very 90s story in big box retailing.)

The Novel Neighbor: Retail done right.

It is interesting how the big boxes squashed many independents in the 1990s only to eventually fall to Amazon. While I’ve philosophically dedicated myself to shopping locally, with an emphasis on independent shops, if I can’t get what I’m looking for there, I do try to go to B&N, Target, Best Buy, etc., because at least those national companies employ people who live in my neighborhood and pay taxes to my schools and first responders, etc. But it all brings me to a greater appreciation of one of St. Louis’ greatest gems: The Novel Neighbor, located in Webster Groves.

I wrote for a business-to-business trade publication for 10 years and that involved writing about a lot of struggles of small business owners trying to compete against first national companies who could cut prices, and then Amazon, who is so big they don’t need to profit from sales. How to survive? You reinvent yourself. You embrace your community to the point where you get the love back. You hold events, especially for kids. Your customer service is insane. And you become much more than that “one thing.”

The Novel Neighbor is that local retailer, one that is so much more than a bookstore. It’s become my place to go when I’m absolutely out of ideas for a friend or child’s birthday or Christmas gift. Will I walk out with a book? Probably. Or a fun card game. A box of magic tricks. A cheese board in the shape of Missouri. A locally-made necklace with the arch on it. A throw pillow that declares: “I like big books and I cannot lie.” This store, and others like it across the country, are leading to a resurgence in independent book stores.

But they are also business-savvy. Holding Harry Potter and Lego-type events gives parents the excuse to come by and while Ava and Ethan are busy in the craft/game room, they can at least get a cup of coffee if not pick up Girl, Stop Apologizing or that cute onesie for their co-worker’s new baby. Classes and summer camps ensue as well. And in case of doing well by doing good, I went there recently for a panel discussion on race relations.

How enamored am I by this store? I recently needed a book on a rock and roll drummer. I found it on Amazon, and with just a click, I could have gotten (full disclosure: I’m even a Amazon Prime member). Instead I emailed Novel Neighbor asking that they get it for me. Two days later I had an excuse to get out and go to their store where I picked it up … and also a funny pair of socks for a friend’s whose birthday was approaching.

I did this because this is a remarkable retailer who deserves our unwavering patronage.

Barnes & Noble tried to compete with both Amazon and stores like this, failing at both. I’m still sorry to see the two local ones go. But if all that had to happen for a Novel Neighborhood to establish its niche? I’ll take that trade off.

--

--