Welcome to All Things St. Louis

Kevin M. Mitchell
All Things St. Louis
2 min readFeb 19, 2019

As a writer, a musician, a dad, and a guy who is just trying to survive our complicated, beautiful, art-rich, much-maligned (often deservedly so) berg, I want to share discoveries, ideas, stories, and even tips I wish I had told my younger self when I first returned to the 314 area.

That’s me with the bunny ears — sister Laurie, Great Aunt Vera, and sister Shelley.

I was born here, the fourth of four. I lived life in the bubble that was South County in the 1960s and 1970s, and in 1981, went off to live in Kansas City, Tulsa, San Francisco, and finally L.A. for the next two decades, basically spending 20 years in my 20s. After the statue of limitation expired after year 20, I returning married. We bought a house and had two boys. Fortunately I was making my living was a freelance writer for multiple local, regional, and national magazines and be a stay at home dad (which even allowed me to write a book about all things STL Dad).

As a parent, I’m deeply involved in education matters and how to make sure our kids’ have fun. As a musician, I’m deeply involved in the local art scene. As a homeowner, I’m deeply involved in figuring out who to go to when your hot water heater goes out. As a guy with a pants size that elicits stern warnings from my humorless GP, I’m deeply involved in eating. As a fella of Irish descent who writes and plays jazz for a living, I’m deeply involved in drinking.

As a writer for Explore St. Louis, I’m a St. Louis booster, so I’ll be trumpeting local businesses, cool shops, unusual things to do, and trends. I’ll have a few stories to tell, too.

I’ll be welcoming comments, ideas, claps, and guest bloggers. And as far as you’re concerned, I’ll do it all with my bunny ears on.

--

--