I only want to be ME…

SuchitraS
All Things Work
Published in
2 min readDec 28, 2023

A feeling of liberation...

Photo by Fernando Brasil on Unsplash

It seems after COVID, the realization of living life fully struck very hard, rather than only working and earning money.

Everything cannot be only about money.

Your dreams, your time, and your hobbies matter.

I want to travel and experience the culture and enjoy the wholehearted cuisine.

Iay, that's the only thing that matters; I won't be wrong.

I am a workaholic who never says No to anything, whether it's 2 AM in the morning or weekends or holidays; if you tell me it's critical, I will sacrifice everything for it.

As a team lead, I used to hamper my life to maintain my team members' work-life balance.

Like being from the IT field and in a support role, people still switch off their phones and internet once they leave the shift. In this way, you can't contact them.

If they are not doing the above, they will not pick up your phone. Then, in critical issues, you have to do the work. As support work is this way, your job is to keep the system up and running 24/7 all year round.

Though these things are good enough when we are single and want to work, they change when our parents get old or we get married and just want to spend time with them.

After COVID, we realized that we never knew how much time was left to spend with our loved ones. So, we want to utilize it effectively and efficiently by creating long-lasting memories.

This is because NOW I feel like taking a break from everywhere and just being me, sitting idle, soaking in the sun, watching movies, and not thinking about anything.

But as a salaried person, you have very little to do if you have only a job to support yourself and pay your dues.

In a way, you are stuck in a deadlock. So am I.

I have seen people suggesting solutions, but I have tried many, but I am still waiting for liberation.

So, this article is not about what you should do but how I currently feel. You, the one reading this, are not alone; there are more like us.

I am not promoting being a workaholic, but if we do the handholding, everyone can enjoy their slice of life joyfully without guilt.

--

--

SuchitraS
All Things Work

Security Enthusiasts | New Writer | Side kick l Book lover l Saree Lover | Tradition