Starbucks Is Dying; Here Is the Perspective You Need to Read

Why Starbucks coffee turned bitter

Luay Rahil
All Things Work

--

Photo by Victor Cayke

Starbucks appears to be dying from various perspectives.

In 1989, sociologist Ray Oldenburg coined the term "third place" to describe a place where people could gather, relax, and socialize beyond their homes and workplaces. Starbucks used to be that place for many coffee drinkers in the United States. However, with the company losing its status as America's favorite third place, it is now experiencing a decline in sales, customers, and growth.

This has presented real challenges for the new CEO, Laxman Narasimhan. These challenges may force the CEO to resign or face a hostile takeover from investors, which could lead to the company's faster decline.

I hired a former Starbucks barista who gave me this unique perspective.

Let me share a quick story that explains Starbucks' decline.

I recently spoke with Rebecca, a barista who had worked there for five years. When I asked her why she was leaving, she told me this story: When she first started working at Starbucks, an older couple would come in every day and order black coffee with a hint of half and half, no sugar.

--

--

Luay Rahil
All Things Work

I write engaging content on business and leadership development.