Here we go

Daiane Jardim
All write
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2023
Foto de Bich Tran: https://www.pexels.com/pt-br/foto/livro-branco-com-nota-669986/

I am here to accomplish a goal, a promise, a debt, or whatever we call that bulleted list we write at the end of the year saying what we want for the year ahead.

In my deluded mind I thought of writing one text a day, be it just two lines, a poem, an opinion, an article, whatever, every day I should write something in 2023. Who knows, maybe then I’ll get the rust off my fingers and get back to the creative (or vague) writing that I loved so much in my past and abandoned a few years ago.

It turns out that one text a day is almost impossible, at least for me, as I have to work and do other things in life and do not make my living from writing. So I am starting this goal on January 4th. Why not before? Well, New Year’s Eve, champagne, headache, and the rest you already know.

As I was writing the last line, I thought: Who do I have to write for? For you or for me? For some imaginary reader? An idol?

Well, today’s text I’m going to write for myself, maybe for the future only God knows. You, Daiane of the future, deal with the consequences.

Understand that you started this “project”, if that’s what I can call it, to also try to get closer to yourself. After all, there are words that only a blank sheet of paper can understand.

You cannot always shout to the outside world what you feel, but a blank sheet of paper never disappoints. It hears your cries, sees your tears, also makes you feel incapable and foolish sometimes, but it is easier to understand this whole process when they are out here, registered, folded, and kept to be reopened in the future, or burned and thrown away.

Anyway, a blank sheet of paper has its value and sometimes even a magical power.

I don’t know how this project will end, if it will come to an end, after all I know myself well, but I hope that while it exists, that it will give me pleasure and do me good.

--

--

Daiane Jardim
All write

English and Portuguese teacher. Master's in Literature and Education. Polyglot, passionate about teaching and writing.