Huron-Bruce Liberal candidate Allan Thompson and his son Laith Rifai-Thompson knocking on doors in Auburn, with Laith riding his motorized skateboard.

Wonderful having your son at your side at such an important time in life

Allan Thompson
ALLAN2019
Published in
5 min readAug 5, 2019

--

By Allan Thompson

GODERICH — At risk of embarrassing our son — Laith Rifai-Thompson — I just wanted to take a moment to thank him from the bottom of my heart for the hours and hours he’s been spending with me, knocking on doors on the campaign trail as I seek to become the MP for Huron-Bruce.

On the main street of Wroxeter after a day of knocking on doors.

The headline says it all: it is wonderful having your son at your side at such an important time in life.

For just over a month, we were able to share some great moments, spending virtually every waking hour together while knocking on thousands of doors across the riding. He’s taking a bit of a break now to spend some well-earned time at the cottage but I didn’t want to miss the chance to say thanks.

Our boy Laith isn’t new to politics. Of course he was part of the campaign back in 2015, when as a newly-licensed driver, part of the fun was time spent behind the wheel driving me around.

This time, he’s been driving a motorized Evolve Bamboo GT skateboard with all terrain wheels. The board caused quite a buzz as Laith used it to scoot from house to house when we were knocking on doors in places like Wroxeter, Auburn, Wingham and Port Elgin. And when I mentioned to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau this past week that my son Laith had been helping me door-knock on his motorized board, the PM was immediately intrigued and wanted to know more about the board. I had to admit I didn’t have a clue and texted Laith to get the details. The PM approved.

In Washington DC for the first Obama inauguration.

Back in 2008, Laith was drawn into the race for the Democratic Party nomination that led to Barack Obama overcoming the challenge from Hillary Clinton to be the party’s candidate. Laith was in Obama’s corner right from the start in the primaries and followed the election closely. The night Obama won after that inspiring campaign of “Hope” and “Yes We Can,” I booked tickets for Laith and I to visit Washington D.C. for Obama’s inauguration on Jan. 20, 2009. I think that trip planted a seed.

Laith was a presence on the campaign trail in my first run for office back in 2015, but as a teenager, he was pretty quiet and shy.

This time around, he became a full-fledged politico, helping me plan our canvass routes when we’d go knocking on doors, then embarking on his own to appeal to voters on my behalf before we’d meet up for lunch or a break before heading out again, often in sweltering heat. And at times we were also joined by Laith’s girlfriend, Levana Chau, who also proved to be a tireless volunteer.

Laith and his girlfriend Levana Chau at the Fordwich Diner

I have come to value Laith’s political advice and instincts. The pictures make it obvious how much he’s grown up and matured since 2015. But our hours together on the campaign trail underlined that point as well, as we chatted and debated politics and the reactions we were receiving on the doorsteps.

All in all it’s been a great opportunity to share with Laith a part of my world and the all-consuming life of politics and the campaign trail, a kind of take-your-son-to-work day, 30 days in a row.

Some of my most enjoyable moments spent with my Dad, Ron Thompson, were the times we shared doing what he did best, farm work. That was while I was growing up on the farm in Glammis, or during my visits back home after I went off to university. Dad was a fish out of water when he’d come to visit in the city. He was most comfortable in his own element, in a realm where he was truly one of the best at what he did.

My Dad, Ron Thompson, doing chores at the Macdonald barn.

As the youngest in our family, I did a lot of driving tractor while Dad would build loads of hay. As I got older, we’d take turns building loads. In the spring we spent hours fixing fences.

Dad, who was left-handed, was always a bit frustrated that I couldn’t seem to pull the pinchers in the right direction so that he could drive in a steeple when the barbed wire was pulled taut. And there was the daily routine of chores on the home farm, at the Macdonald barn on the 14th of Greenock and at the barn up at Uncle Kenny’s.

We made an odd team sometimes on the farm. For whatever reason, I think it was pretty clear, pretty early, that farming wasn’t going to be my profession.

But those times sharing Dad’s passion for farming remain some of the best moments of my life. And now that Dad is gone, I cherish them.

Regardless of the outcome of this election campaign, I will always treasure the moments Laith and I have been able to spend together.

So thanks Laith, from Dad.

Another day, another canvass.
Laith took all of my photos during the visit by Minister of Agriculture Marie-Claude Bibeau.
Knocking on doors in Holmesville. The road stretching out behind us gives a sense of the distances you cover in a rural campaign.

--

--

Allan Thompson
ALLAN2019

Journalism professor @ Carleton, former Toronto Star reporter, two-time Liberal candidate in Huron-Bruce, editor of Media and Mass Atrocity, proud Dad & husband