Ebooks With IBooks Author

Case study of IBooks Author: Way Of Kings

Allen Jensen
Allen Jensen
3 min readOct 14, 2019

--

With iBooks Author, you can do some nice bookmaking for iPads or online reading. With the popovers, HTML, and video inserts you can make a book quite interactive. With this project, I will explore the potential uses of making a book fun.

iBooks is super simple to use and reminds me of Word especialy with how it handles photo spacing and positioning. Getting the added photo on a page can be difficult. One way that I found to help center the pictures is to clear one or two lines then center the text. At that point, you can input a picture with it being centered. The reason I spent so much time on photos is that they help reinforce the story.

Popovers look good with photos in them or with words in them… doing both can make it hard to look good because the picture is always off-center unless you make it huge.

Video is simple to add in but the HTML I could not figure out for the life of me.

iPad testing

As nice as night mode is I have no idea how to work for both night and day. Yes, they are all PNGs. Another problem I ran into is you cant zoom with the popovers. Not being able to zoom takes away from some of the features I implemented.

Something I did not explore was sound files and how well they work in the system.

At the end of building a project, I have concluded that iBooks author is barely more capable then Word by itself. That being said you can add a lot of different features if you use Hype or know HTML.

--

--