Blue and Green Should Never Be Seen & Other Marmite Fashion Moments

Chlöe Hicks
All Eyes
Published in
7 min readJun 10, 2021
Photo by The Search Style Collective

Anti-Fashion fashion is quite literally a trend in itself.

I’m sure we’re all familiar with some of these trends — the ones you have to glance back at on the street and sometimes even question the thought process that went on behind the scenes. I certainly have, and then within time I usually end up finding myself loving that weird pattern combination or completely pointless accessory and eventually getting behind the trend myself in some way.

In this article, I’ll be looking into some of these questionable fashion decisions, that just like marmite you will either love or hate.

Colour Clash

I remember the moment perfectly as a little girl — my mum telling me that “blue and green should never be seen”. Although, I have to say, in recent summers I’ve seen them almost everywhere together. It is quite clearly a popular summer duo.

Over the last couple of years pairing contrasting colours has become more and more evident when looking at consumer styling choices. Now, with the leaving of lockdown and beginning of hotter weather many people want to make bolder choices and elevate their colour palette to stand out in public (or online), or even dress to match the way they feel in their newfound freedom.

I am loving this trend for summer (even if my mum isn’t fully a fan) — it feels fun and lighthearted, which I believe is so important after the last year. This trend truly is the embodiment of happiness IRL and its really positive to see on the streets whilst out on our new, well-deserved adventures. Think of it as colour therapy.

Crocs

Another childhood memory entering its way into my summer is Crocs. I know, I know. So many of you behind your screens are rolling your eyes or shaking your heads, and I would have agreed with you a while back. However, I will hold my hands up and say I have an email notification on to tell me when the orchid colour is back in stock and I have the Jibbitz (charms) in my basket waiting for me.

Photo from Crocs Instagram

Personally, Crocs bring back happy, positive memories and remind me of the times when I would wear them as a child. They are truly something I never saw coming to fashion yet here we are, and on another note, after all this time inside many of us still need that little bit of comfort when venturing outdoors. I have a feeling this might be why they are rapidly growing in popularity again - they make sense.

The official Crocs instagram page boasts celebrities and influencers such as Justin Bieber, Bretman Rock, Post Malone and many more, all who can be seen sporting the ‘comfort-is-key’ style shoe, confirming just how big and mainstream this trend is about to be. Just check out the collaborations. This is without a doubt a love hate fashion moment at its finest, so I will support the strange looks as I walk down Oxford Street in my purple crocs.

Candied Rings

Want more nostalgia? Now for the chunky plastic rings that again remind me of childhood. Remember the brightly coloured rings you would get in those toys when you were younger? Well, they’re back for Summer 2021.

Photos by _magda__

I’ve seen some amazing ones that look incredible when styled together and complimenting an outfit, but what I can’t understand is how to use a knife and fork when wearing them? They’re definitely more of a decorative, quirky piece than a practical accessory, but they still look so fresh, fun and I am living for it (on other people though, I just couldn’t do life with them on my hands).

It’s a trend that’s become huge over social media for this spring/summer and IMO has the power to dominate the accessory world during these sunnier, joyful times. Top tip: Mix and match colours and textures and let your fingers do the talking.

XXS Bags

From big rings to tiny bags, let’s talk Jacquemus. When we think about this trend one little, tiny object comes to mind. Say it with me, the ‘Le Petit Chiquito’ — the bag that has a height of 4cm, width of 5cm, depth of 1.5cm and has still somehow made its way onto my wish list, even though I‘m not sure my keys would fit in it.

These bags boomed at the beginning of 2019, going viral on Twitter, and continue to do so with many high street stores mimicking the shape and size of the infamous teeny bag. Many made negative comments towards the design however, despite this level of negative press at the beginning they have reigned superior among street stylists ever since.

Ugly Trainers

‘Chunky’ trainers are another over-exaggerated accessory that has been creeping into fashion over the past few years that some people just love to loathe.

In 2017 we saw Balenciaga release the ‘Triple S’ trainer and pretty much overnight the streets exploded with ugly trainers in all different shapes and sizes, but the ‘Triple S’ were the original, the real deal. It’s a shoe that you will see at least once walking down Oxford Street - that I can guarantee with almost certainty.

After their release, high street brands jumped onto Balenciaga's style of heavy soled shoe and created their own versions, appealing to the taste and purse strings of the mass market. I personally didn’t jump on this trend, but I must give a round of applause to those wearing the ‘Triple S’ on shopping trips - it’s a bold move to turn a pleasant shopping experience into a workout, so my respect goes out to you for that.

Print Mis-match

Prints of course, have always been consistently noted within the fashion industry. From natural animal or floral prints to random geometric designs and everything in-between, I suspect everyone has at least one printed staple in their wardrobes.

More recently it’s become more common in styling to mix prints, so you can take the fashion police off your speed dial. Mixing prints when done correctly gets the green light from me.

Someone that has really nailed this idea of mixing texture, print and colour is Magda. Throughout this last year Magda has shared a complete style journey that includes incredible thought-out and eye-catching outfits that break all of the so-called ‘fashion rules’. Magda has really understood the assignment when it comes to print and is the perfect person to use as inspiration if this is a summer trend you want to dive into.

Double Denim

And finally, a personal favourite of mine, double denim. 20 years ago now, Justin and Britney stepped onto the red carpet inducing a double denim craze. Their iconic matching denim outfits at the time were pretty ground-breaking and continue to feature on many a moodboard.

Following this, in 2014 Katy Perry and Riff Raff recreated the original look as an homage and former ’00s teens were in awe. Since then, we have seen double denim slowly make its way into everyday fashion - it’s a trend that is here to stay for the foreseeable future due to its versatility through weather, styles and moods. As consumers, we have adopted the look that was once seen as a joke or parody into our every day wardrobes.

Photo by The Search Style Collective

We often support unique trends that society once didn’t accept, to make us feel different in a world that is constantly creating carbon copies. Although these anti-fashion fashion moments are becoming more and more mainstream, there will always be more. A constant supply of newness is guaranteed from the people experimenting with and challenging fashion and trends, to elevate and innovate their individual style to not just follow the path we are told to.

Who knows what’s to come next? Maybe I’ll be wearing those shoes with the dolls in the bottom to University come September. I absolutely would not rule it out!

Find out more about All Eyes here, or follow us on Instagram.

--

--