Q&A with recent fashion design graduate Chloe Newman

Emily SY
All Eyes
Published in
6 min readAug 25, 2020

All Eyes speaks with Graduate Fashion Week nominee and recent University for the Creative Arts Graduate Chloe Newman about MA’s, final collections and more.

Development of Chloe’s Hand Painted Print

Hi Chloe! Congrats on being nominated for the GFW Digital Fashion Portfolio Award! What do you think about your work caught the judges eyes?

I would say that my unique presentation techniques created a strong and consistent mood throughout. I really wanted to create a relationship between the pages that enabled a strong, coherent visual narrative. I think the use of my graphic tools, such as the outline of the map and the water-colour explosives link the pages and reinforce my aesthetic.

Overall I just wanted to communicate the process of my final collection to the best that I could and I guess they thought that I achieved this.

How did you feel about presenting your work virtually? What was your process?

I actually quite enjoyed presenting my work virtually, I normally do everything by hand so it was a challenge for me but it worked out pretty well. I still wanted that hand made, sketchbook look so I hand-painted my illustrations and hand-wrote my descriptions then scanned them in. I then used Photoshop and Illustrator to overlap graphics and experiment with the layout. I then put two A3 landscape pages together as if it was like looking at a portfolio in real life.

Presenting my work virtually has even persuaded me to buy an iPad so I am now learning to draw on Procreate and Photoshop.

You have some really amazing mood boards, do you use any specific programmes to put them together?

I don’t really use any specific programmes for my boards, I just have a good eye for layout. I did use Adobe Illustrator to create my portfolio, it allows you to place the pages next to each other so you can see the overall look and I like running a graphic from page to page to create a relationship between the pages.

“My final collection is inspired by the series and real life events of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster, that occurred in 1986… It is considered to be the worst nuclear disaster in history.”

One of Chloe’s initial mood boards

Can you talk us through the inspiration and concept behind your final collection?

My final collection is inspired by the series and real life events of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster, that occurred in 1986. The accident took place at the №4 nuclear reactor in the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, near the city of Pripyat. It is considered to be the worst nuclear disaster in history.

The Babushkas are a group of old women, that have clung to their ancestral homeland inside the radioactive ‘Exclusion Zone’ and refused to leave. The decision was made that because these women were old, they were allowed to stay, due to them dying of old age before the radiation could affect them. The Babushkas homes are extremely depressing and run down, however, beautiful hand painted floral cloths and cutlery were decorated around the interior. These were called Petrykwka decorative paintings and were the inspiration behind the collections feminine touch.

“The initial stage is my favourite part; from gathering research from books and documentaries and trips to London to look at garment construction to designing garments and going fabric shopping.”

Do you have a favourite piece or look from your final collection?

I wouldn’t say I have a favourite piece, however, I definitely have a preferred outfit; this includes the ‘Loose Thread Chunky Knit’, the ‘Babushka Gathered Dress’, the ‘War Zone Leather Belt & Pouch’ and the ’Tie-dye Bandeau & Shorts’. I was so happy with my hand-painted floral print and thought it looked amazing on the silk satin and chiffon. I just think all the fabrics, textures and colours work so well together.

“Babushka Floral Dress“, “Loose Thread Chunky Knit” and “War Zone Leather Belt & Pouch”

If you look back on the whole journey of creating your collection, what was your favourite part?

The initial stage is my favourite part; from gathering research from books and documentaries and trips to London to look at garment construction to designing garments and going fabric shopping.

If you ever feel uninspired, how do you work through it?

It is really rare that I feel uninspired; there are so many things that inspire and motivate me. I would say that my favourite thing to do is visit exhibitions, such as the V&A or Tate Modern, they always have exciting things going on. I have booked to see Andy Warhol at the Tate next month, and I am so excited!

Who would you say is your favourite designer?

I am and always have been obsessed with McQueen. I loved his wacky and inventive collections when he was with us and I love what Sarah Burton has turned the brand into. I don’t think there is a collection yet that I don’t like!

Toile development for Chloe’s “Rust Gathered Jacket”

Now you’ve graduated, looking back, why did you pick Fashion Design? Is it something you’ve always wanted to do?

I’ve always been creative, arty and had an eye for fashion. In sixth form, I was still unsure where I wanted to take my creativity, so I decided to do a foundation year at UCA. After this I had narrowed it down to fashion, architecture and interior design; fashion was always my favoured subject however, I was worried about trying to find work in such a high-demand industry.

I love researching, designing, constructing and experimenting with fabrics, colours and textures, fashion was the only one that included all of these topics so I decided to take the plunge and I am so happy I did! Even though there were many late nights and stressful moments, I can honestly say I have enjoyed every minute of my degree.

“Rust Gathered Jacket”

What do you think are some of the best skills you’ve picked up from your time at university?

I have learnt so much throughout my degree, it's hard to pinpoint specific skills. When I started, I knew absolutely nothing about pattern cutting or production, I had never used an industrial sewing machine or an overlocker, it was all so alien to me. It is crazy how much you can learn in such a short amount of time, in three years I have gone from not being able to thread up an industrial sewing machine to sewing my whole collection with various difficult fabrics!

You’re doing a Masters next year — congratulations! Why did you make the decision to further your education?

I first decided to do a Masters when I interned at Julien Macdonald last year; a lot of Julien’s employees said that they had gone back a few years after their degree to complete a Masters and to be totally honest, I could not think of anything worst than going back to University after I had been out to work and earning money. While I am still in a students frame of mind and happy at the university I attended, I would rather do it now. UCA’s Master's course also teaches you a lot about setting up your own brand, this has always been a dream of mine so will be good to learn a bit more about it.

__

If you’d like to check out more of Chloe’s work, you can follow her on Instagram.

All Eyes helps fashion brands and retailers stay on trend by spotlighting consumer demand from the streets.

Find out more here or email us on hello@searchstyle.com

We’re social: Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | YouTube

--

--