Life Somewhat Out of Lockdown…

Chlöe Hicks
All Eyes
Published in
6 min readMay 1, 2021

With the UK’s lockdown restrictions easing and ‘normality’ hanging in the balance, we explore ways in which to re-enter today’s ‘new normal’.

Over the last few weeks, normality has begun to edge its way to the very tip of our tongues, but we shouldn’t overlook all the ways this might make us feel. Now is the first time in a long time where you can roam the streets and shops with as many bags as you can carry, lift those heavy weights and enjoy a bite to eat (even if you have to endure freezing Spring temperatures to do so). On top of this you’ll finally be able to see those people who have only been seen through screens for the last four months, out and about.

“Now implementing these changes into this new level of freedom is somewhat overwhelming for me and I can only imagine there are others out there feeling the same, and that is absolutely okay!”

For me, with the easing of lockdown restrictions, sitting down with friends and being surrounded by strangers on neighbouring tables has been a surreal feeling — one that I would of course never have questioned prior to this pandemic, but the time has come to almost re-find ourselves within these new social settings.

Over the last 4 months, so much has changed in my life alone that now moving back to the old version of ‘normality’ seems almost impossible. I have started a new internship, gained new skills through university, fallen back in love with fitness and caring for myself, and although this is all positive, I have also dealt with loss, a constant fluctuating shift in my mental health and the daily challenges that come with being over 100 miles away from my family. Now implementing these changes into this new level of freedom is somewhat overwhelming for me and I can only imagine there are others out there feeling the same, and that is absolutely okay!

This feeling of being overwhelmed is ultimately having a strong emotion over almost every thought that passes through my mind. So, if you’re feeling this way too, lets talk about ways in which we can tackle this and allow ourselves to embrace this ‘new normal’, slightly-out-of-lockdown lifestyle.

When figuring out how to start feeling like yourself when coming out of this period, clothes are a great place to start.

“My white joggers are a kind of ‘safe space’ for me.”

Some of my recent style inspiration

Pairing outdoor hospitality with the unreliability of typical British weather, means outfit choices are limited, however, this is a good way to ease yourself into things. Personally, I’m going out in the same lockdown joggers and jumpers - shifting from ‘loungewear vibes’ into an everyday lifestyle essentials mentality, allowing for that little bit more comfort I may need when moving back to normality. My white joggers are a kind of ‘safe space’ for me.

All Eyes Instagram post

I also think it’s important to slowly ease yourself into seeing people again. Step by step, introduce seeing different people, maybe starting with those you stayed in strong contact with during this last lockdown; with these people, it will likely feel as if you never left them. On the other hand, seeing people you haven’t spoken to in ages could also be an incredibly refreshing social interaction as there will be so much to update and catch up on! Just remember to take this moment as slow paced as you feel necessary.

Routine is another thing about to change dramatically for many of us. Those of us going back to work after months away will currently be figuring out our work life balance again. But, with the elements of this ‘balance’ all coming at once, surely the daily routine we had this past year, still deserves our time and energy?

“90% of creatives currently working from home.”

Creativepool

I cannot be the only one out of this “90% of creatives” that occasionally got into the habit of working in bed. Only half making the bed and lying on top to continue the working day from there. I find myself still in the habit of working from bed in the evening, if I have anything to catch up on. This is a habit I am sure many of us want to break sooner rather than later.

Crossing home with work spaces makes the lines between working life and actual life very blurred, and in turn could create negative, uneasy feelings for yourself when working remotely. So my new rule - now I am making a conscious effort to wake up, coffee in bed and then leave the bed and move to a different area to ensure I separate that work area from my home area, with the aim of keeping my environment as happy as possible while I continue to work from home.

Envisioning a future again is something that can seem uncertain and daunting right now. We can continue making progress to gain normality but nothing is set in stone, and therefore understanding your next steps can be confusing. For me, during lockdown I continued with my degree and started a new editorial internship here at All Eyes, which has enabled my mind to stay creative. Yet with this ever-changing lifestyle, where my creativity will flow is in the unknown 95% of the time, which can make it hard to predict what I will be doing in even a couple of weeks’ time.

Having said that, it’s always important for me to find the positives in these new changes and having this level of uncertainty has ultimately enabled me to live a more spontaneous and freeing lifestyle, which has led to feeling that little bit more fulfilled every day.

All Eyes Instagram Post

This slight perspective shift will positively change my ‘new normal’ so much - I’ll now leave myself moments that aren’t planned. Before lockdown I’m sure many of us would get wrapped up in the whirlwind of life and not give ourselves those crucial and spontaneous moments to be with ourselves, whereas now we have adapted to do so - we are the main characters in our lives.

“Now that life is beginning to get busy again, prioritise you, your friends and family and doing what you love — Don’t lose those newfound passions, instead move your lockdown findings into new air space.”

Finally, many of us will be starting this new journey with less people than we entered it with. This is something that should not go unnoticed and now we’re beginning to move back to normality, it’s important to know that anything you feel right now is valid and you are most certainly not alone in those thoughts.

Spread positivity, tune into yourself and your needs and take each day as it comes, moment by moment. Now that life is beginning to get busy again, prioritise you, your friends and family and doing what you love. Creativepool reports that 60% of creatives are reinventing their craft and working on themselves, and in turn, turning their passions into money, so don’t lose those newfound passions, instead move your lockdown findings into new air space.

Remember, we are only ‘somewhat out of lockdown’, so you don’t need all the answers yet. Life doesn’t need to feel ‘normal’ and you don’t have to have it all together. And finally, a reminder from me to you. Don’t put unnecessary pressure on yourself and most importantly, enjoy this time, and the much needed serotonin boost.

Find out more about All Eyes here, or follow us on Instagram.

--

--